We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bothy in July
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bothy in July
gallery bedroom Kitchen (fully fitted with dishwasher)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Bothy in July
gallery bedroom
Kitchen (fully fitted with dishwasher)
Living area
spiral staircase leading up to gallery bedroom
Cosy wood burning stove
side of Bothy in u-shape
Logs
view of Balblair Farm
Kitchen (fully fitted)
Bothy front door
View of Cottages
Balblair sign at the end of drive
view of Balblair Farm looking towards Moray Firth
Loch Ness and Urquart Castle
Pipers at Fort George
Cawdor Castle and Gardens
Nairn Beach
Dolphins at Chanonry Point, Black Isle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
David W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

New year stay at the Bothy was fantastic.
Cottage is located in a peaceful location on a working farm that does not impact on your stay.
Proprietor Barbara and her family give you a very warm welcome and are very friendly.
The cottage we stayed in is the 1 bedroom, there are 3 cottages in the block.
Cottage is excellently equipped and very modern with many outstanding features - wood burning stove, underfloor heating in the bathroom and kitchen, spiral staircase to mezzanine bedroom, beautiful modern kitchen with all the appliances you could want, rain head shower with detachable second head, heated & illuminated mirror in bathroom and much much more.
Area is beautiful, sunsets and sun rises are picture perfect when the weather allows.
Short drive to Inverness or Nairn where you will find shops, restaurants etc.
Airport is 5 minutes away if flying in like us.
Surrounding area is beautiful.
Snow on the mountains while we were here, very picturesque.
Many tourist attractions close by, Fort George and Culloden battle field to name a couple.
Hogmanay in Inverness was a great experience and highly recommended, a unforgettable experience.
All in a brilliant time had and sorry to say goodbye.
You will not be disappointed with the Bothy.

Dave & Laura Wright.
Manchester

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: too much to mention - EVERYTHING!
Liked least: Leaving the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomandCou...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Looking for a cosy cottage. Look no further”
Reviewed 23 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Along with a group of friends we took all three of the Balblair cottages and they were perfect for the weekend.
The Bothy in particular was exactly as describe online, if not better.
The location is perfect for the airport and Fort George as well as walks around Loch Ness (you would need a car)
If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the area, you should stay here. If there are more of you, use one of the bigger cottages - they are great too!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylvia196...
Inverness
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Look no further....”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

There us no better place to stay...it was beautiful, immaculate and had everything needed to make it a comfy home from home...I cannot recommend it enough. Barbara and her family were friendly and welcoming....I will definitely be back :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2014
We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Bothy cottage and that you highly recommend Balblair Cottages! We look forward to having you stay in the future. Best wishes, Barbara.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley F
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“5 Star holiday accommodation - YOU NEED TO BOOK NOW”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I booked this Bothy on the recommendation of Trip Advisor and both my husband and I were blown away with the excellent standard of the accommodation. The Bothy is small, quirky and cute – if fact we started to call it home by the second day - it comes equipped with a washing machine, dish washer, a fully refurbished kitchen and bathroom with underfloor heating and a lovely seating area outside.

We found this to be a fantastic spot for travelling up and down the coast and wonderful day trips like the Jacobite Railway which goes over the Harry Potter bridge, dolphin spotting and of course masses of castles. You will find a massive book of things to do also provided in the cottage.

Barbara and her family were the most wonderful hosts and were on hand if we needed advise for days out or places to eat.

I would honestly challenge anyone to find anywhere better to stay – and no, I am not a family member.

Lesley and Ian

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent accommodation
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review! We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the Bothy cottage and the facilities provided. The cottage is an ideal base for touring the Highlands and we are pleased that it felt like home when you returned every night. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hope to welcome you in the future. Kind regards, Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie m
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Holiday Home!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Myself and 7 other friends stayed in the Bothy and Barn cottages at Balblair for 4 nights in May 2014. Directions were perfect, easy to find the cottages! The cottages were clean and easily accessed with plenty of space for cars. We all thoroughly enjoyed our trip and would highly recommend Balblair Cottages! :)

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing