We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulously Decadent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed at Rocpool midweek in April to celebrate my Mum's 60th birthday, and also my birthday - we had been upgraded to a Chic room, due to problems with the voucher we were using for our stay, and it was more than lovely! Large and spacious, although quite dark, due to it's location on the lower ground floor. Comfortable beds, complimentary mineral water and the fancy coffee maker were all appreciated! The bathroom was fantastic as well, with a huge bath / monsoon shower, and Molten Brown goodies. The hotel decor is very modern and indeed did remind me of Cameron House, where we have stayed before, albeit on a much smaller scale. One issue I did encounter was that the WiFi was really hit or miss, not sure if that was just due to our lower ground floor location, but after speaking to reception a couple of times to solve the problem, only for it to happen again, I gave up!!

We dined in the bar that evening on the 'Roux Express' menu - lovely to have a little taste of lots of different things, although I did find my dessert was a bit cold by the time I had got to it (all 4 courses are served at the same time on a 'tasting platter' style dish) The food was delicious though. And the same can be said for breakfast the next morning, to say we were spolied for choice was an understatement!! Fantastic and attentive service at both dinner & breakfast all added to the experience. All the staff we dealt with were very efficient and friendly in fact, although it was sometimes hard to get hold of someone in the Reception area, as there's not really an official 'desk' as such.

Overall, we felt that we experienced a really indulgent break, and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. It is expensive though (having seen the normal rack rates) so perhaps more somewhere you'd go for a special treat?! We felt that we got amazing value for money however, using our voucher, and would definitely reccomend the hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing and decadent weekend away.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NORTHERN5TAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review from your recent visit with us.

I am glad you were able to enjoy the amenities within our guest rooms and happy to read that you had enjoyed your visit with us.

I have noted your comments with regards to the Wifi and will have this looked into, as we have Wifi installed throughout the hotel this should not have been an issue for you.

Kind Regards

Niki Gillies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (626)
There are newer reviews for Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 409 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

Don't be fooled by the marketing spin around this 'hotel'. It's an upmarket B&B trying to play in the same league as Gleneagles and Cameron House - it competes comfortably on price, but sadly nothing else. If, for whatever reason, you end up paying more than £150-£200 per night (even for the 'extra decadent rooms' - we had one) then I suspect you will feel less than value for money. Front of house service was average both on arrival and departure, no air con in rooms (even in April this was an issue - can't imagine what they must be like on a warm night) and a docking station that wouldn't work with an iPhone 4S. Breakfast was good, but again service not up to the standards that their pricing warrants. Didn't try the restaurant so can't comment - went to the Mustard Seed in town - very good indeed. Overall, it's a 6 out of 10. If you want to pitch yourself against the best, then make sure you have the proposition to match.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loisbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I would like to confirm that we do not compete with larger resort hotels such as Gleneagles and Cameron house, as we are a smaller establishment we pride ourselves on the service which we offer, as we have the ability of providing a more intimidate and attentive environment for our guests and our staff thrive to reach their goals at achieving this.

Myself and the team at Rocpool Reserve would have been delighted to have had the opportunity to further assist you during your stay with us, and I do hope that should we have the honour of welcoming you back you will be able to take advantage of this.

Kind Regards
Niki Gillies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was my second visit to the Rocpool & it was again fantastic. The room was amazing, huge downstairs bathroom/shower area, just loved it & the bed is huge & comfortable, the overall room was spotless. The staff were all so lovely, so attentive & friendly without getting in the way. I loved the 'express' menu for lunch, a wee taste of everything, just enough. Will be back again to this hotel later in year, it is perfect for a visit to Inverness, great location & central - thanks again :-)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowMoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We raved so much about our first trip here, great service, rooms and food, that my parents bought us a dinner bed an breakfast voucher for christmas. Wonderful, not cheap, particularly given my parents circumstances. We had a decadent room, but for the dates we wanted to book they only had a ... well whatever the room down is because they were fully booked. We have limited opportunities to get away so when we asked if they could say, put the difference towards a bottle of wine, no joy. So it would have been a great waste of money.

My wife decided we're better off going later (a month later as it happens) when we can use the room we got (bearing in mind the voucher has a very limited life span). So we changed our plans and when in February.

The place itself, well I would continue to say great things about it. Lovely rooms, service, food and drinks.

Just a pity about the voucher system where you pay upfront for something you might not get!

Stayed: February 2012
1  Thank Greg2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your stay with us.

We are pleased to read that you were happy with the Service, Food and Drinks which we provide at Rocpool Reserve.

It is unfortunate that we were not able to accommodate you on the original dates you had requested. As the voucher offer was very popular it would not have been possible to guarantee availability for every night. Though I am delighted you were able to visit us in February and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Niki Gillies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

this is a lovely hotel with great service. The staff are very pleasant and attentive. The rooms are well maintained and spotlessly clean. The service was fantastic as was the food. The location is good for the town centre around a five minute walk to there, the castle and the river.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LornzAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay with us.

It was a pleasure to have you visit us, and we are delighted you were able to enjoy the service, accommodation, and our location.

We hope to see you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Niki Gillies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
5.7 km away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 35 in Inverness
593 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.9 km away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 35 in Inverness
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 35 in Inverness
641 reviews
1.9 km away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.2 km away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 35 in Inverness
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux

Address: 14 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AG, Scotland (Formerly Culduthel Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#4 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: ₹ 11,847 - ₹ 34,318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star boutique hotel opened in February 2006. A totally renovated Georgian Townhouse featuring stunning modern original design. The hotel also has a Chez Roux restaurant with a French flair and R-bar for cocktails. All produce used is local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel And Chez Roux
Rocpool Reserve Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing