We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a pleasant experience”
Review of Crown Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crown Court Hotel
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not a pleasant experience”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had high hopes for this hotel but were very disappointed. Our bedroom was far from clean with dust on the lampshades and the skirting boards. However, the major problem was that the room was freezing. Certainly, at the end of January, when we stayed, the weather in Inverness was very cold. However, the radiator in the en-suite bathroom was not working at all and this meant cold air was spreading into a quite large bedroom. The small radiator there worked, but it went off at around 9.30pm until 7.30am, by which time we were frozen. Added to that, we could not warm up in a bath as the hot water was tepid and we did not want to remain in that icebox of a bathroom for any longer than necessary anyway.
At checkout we expressed our dissatisfaction to the young lady, who, when prompted by us, agreed to reduce the room rate by £10.00. The owners were absent but we were assured that they would contact us on their return. We have heard nothing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaybabeglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    52
    44
    34
    21
See reviews for
40
83
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Nice warm welcome when we arrived. Rooms big and fresh. Beds comfy, nice big mug for cup of tea after long drive from edinburgh. Bar tender polite and professional! We went to the bar in evening and the Locals and off duty staff made us feel welcome and invited us to join in! Breakfast was lovely and eveing meal was amazing! Chef even accomadated for my 2 year old. Great place to go if u want a good price, want to relax and mingle!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricaW85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

When we saw this advertised outside the hotel we thought we'd give it a try, so we went on Friday night.

Arrived for our reserved table at 7pm. DIdn't need to book, we were the only people there. Service was quick, but we weren't offered a drink from the bar.

Having got our own drinks from the bar, we ordered our steaks along with a bottle of red wine.

We didn't have to wait long. The steaks looked massived, but we discovered it was sitting on a bed of 4 whole mushrooms. So not as big as we thought. They were however, cooked perfectly, served with chips, 1/2 a tomato and a couple of salad leaves.

No mustard was offered, so we asked for English mustard (perfect with steak), but they didn't have any?? We settled for French, which was OK, but would have preferred English. There wasn't any vinegar on the table, but we didn't ask for any.

The wine was..............there's no other word for it but awful. Sandy Bay red wine. Probably bought from the cash and carry for £2.99 a bottle. It tasted like ribena and had about the same alcohol content (8%). I can't even find this wine on the internet, and Tesco don't sell it either.

Based on £3.00 for the wine, this would make each steak £10.50. Would't say it was worth that.

It's said that you get what you pay for but if the wine had been better we would have had a second bottle and also a dessert, but we didn't.

The dining room is small, only seats about 15-20 people, but was nicely decorated and set out. There wasn't any piped music, only a small CD player which was stuck on repeat. Only noticed on the fourth round of New York by Paloma Faith did we notice. Fortunately we like the song.

This wasn't a bad experience, as the staff were very attentive and service was quick, but probably not one we would repeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My husband and i had our wedding meal & reception at The Crown Court Hotel in November 2011,i cant praise the hotel manager Danielle,and her staff,Nadia,Heidi,chefs and bar staff enough,nothing was too much trouble for them,they made our day truly memorable,they catered for all our needs and that of our guests needs promptly and profesionally,nothing was too much trouble for Danielle or any of her staff,we also stayed in the hotel on our wedding night,our room was beautiful,very spacious clean and cosy,i would recommend this hotel to anyone celebrating a special occasion,wedding,birthday etc, FAB FAB FAB!!!!

Thanks Guys!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Our room was beautiful (room 7)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 908ZAFER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I live in Inverness but had family come up to visit me this week and they stayed at the Crown Court Hotel. They invited my partner and I for dinner in the hotel restaurant and I can quite safely say it was one of the worst dining experiences of my life.

The choice of the menu was good and reasonably priced, howver we all (4 of us) opted for the breaded mushrooms to start. This was described as "breaded mushrooms, garlic dip and salad" - pretty straight forward, right? We were all brought non-breaded mushrooms on toasted bruschetta and covered with a layer of cheese. This wasn't a problem for most of us and we didn't really complain, however my partner cannot eat dairy so explained that it wasn't what any of us ordered and asked if hers could be swapped for the BREADED MUSHROOMS that were on the menu. The other 3 of us kept what we had and to stop it going cold we obviously tucked in while my partner waited for her BREADED MUSHROOM.

A few moments late, the waiter (with his i'm sure excellent but non-existant customer service skills) reappeared with the remaining starter and placed it in front of my partner. I'm not sure what the confusion was but there wasn't a single breaded mushroom on the plate, and instead a small piece of toast with a few, sorry, a platefull of fried onions and a couple of grilled tomatoes. As there was no dairy on the plate and she was hungry, she decided to take the starter as the waiter/barman had placed it down and immediately walked back to the bar. On returning for the empty(ish) plates, we explained the starter was nothing like the breaded mushrooms that were ordered and he just mumbled something and laughed.

The main cources were more acceptable as they were all exactly what was ordered, although I had the roast pork stuffed with black pudding which was served luke warm and wasn't much to be desired. The pork was thinly sliced and almost tasteless, the black pudding tasted nothing like the black pudding I'm so used to eating in the Highlands and was more like a paste than anything, it was served with 2 soft new potatoes and 2 hard roast potatoes, a few veg... and a bit of gravy.

The restaurant itself is home to the ladies toilets which obviously pulls in a lot of traffic from the bar and is also used for guests/public/half of Inverness to pass through regulary leaving the door constantly swinging open and a chill blowing through almost all ther time. We were placed in the centre table in the room under a bright light which would have been better switched off if there was no dimmer and the lack of music playing made no attempt to create an atmosphere. We were the only guests in the restaurant, surprise surprise.

The waiter/barman who in fairness was on his own (though it wasn't busy) made no effort to apologise for the starters (not even an initial apology) and continuously served us with the odours of his very frequent smoking breaks.

A horrible dining experience. I can only hope that any guests staying at the hotel who may be on their first visit to Inverness are not put off by this experience and take the time to enjoy any of the many fantastic hotels and restaurants in the area. This place is certainly not an example.

The location is good but there are other nice hotels with excellent standard in the same area of Inverness.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marko69_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 km away
Corriegarth Hotel
Corriegarth Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
226 reviews
2.2 km away
Travelodge Inverness
Travelodge Inverness
#24 of 34 in Inverness
178 reviews
0.8 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#25 of 34 in Inverness
482 reviews
0.3 km away
Heathmount Hotel
Heathmount Hotel
#14 of 34 in Inverness
370 reviews
0.6 km away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#16 of 34 in Inverness
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Court Hotel

Property: Crown Court Hotel
Address: 25 Southside Road, Inverness IV2 3BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,942 - ₹ 9,050
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Crown Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Court Inverness
Crown Court Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing