We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for families”
Review of Smithton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smithton Hotel
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 30 April 2007

We booked an easter weekend break with our two children based on the website stating "Games Room" and "Family Friendly".......big mistake. The Games Room is a no child go area as it is accessed via the bar. Such a big mistake infact that we did not stay.

The one positive thing I will say is that the manager on duty was extremely understanding of the situation and accepted our decision to leave.

The hotel is in the middle of a housing estate and is the bar definately a favourite with the locals, not quite the accommodation or setting we were expecting.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank froobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 128 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester
12
Reviewed 10 December 2005

Stayed at the Smithton Hotel for the third time. We really enjoy it here, and find the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, and the food good, especially breakfast! Yeah, the entertainment from the bars can be heard in the rooms at times, but this is the same in most hotels. The thing to do would be to go down and join in, have a good time! We have no complaints about the place, anyway.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sevenoaks, Kent, England
14
Reviewed 15 March 2005

Room was larger than expected, room was well appointed and the ensuite was in mint condition. The two bars on the ground floor of the hotel are very good and the owners, locals and staff are all very friendly, you will never feel alone.
I would recommend their breakfast to anyone. It still goes down as the best breakfast I have had in a British Hotel. I cannot wait to go back in the summer.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2004

Booked the hotel on the internet. Unfortunately it was of a very basic standard. Set in the middle of a housing estate and was used extensively by the locals. Breakfast ok but dinner was a once only experience.
We were booked for 6 nights but had to move out after 3. Two nights we were subjected to very loud music from the bar, one of which was a karaoke evening. Our room was directly above and the floor was vibrating from the speakers below. The swearing from the bar was also impossible to ignore.
The room had decor from the 70's. We had an ensuite which had a crack in the basin. There were no fire regulations posted in the room.
On a positive note the owners and staff were charming.

5  Thank Hook_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
wick, scotland
13
Reviewed 1 June 2003

Booked into hotel for weekend to see eclipse, and enjoyed ourselves very much. There was a wedding on in the lounge bar, so we spent the evening in the public bar, next door, and what a laugh we had with the local clientele in there. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes an informal atmosphere, with friendly staff, nice rooms, and not a stuffy, snooty hotel.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
4.2 km away
Crown Court Hotel
Crown Court Hotel
#33 of 36 in Inverness
205 reviews
4.6 km away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#21 of 36 in Inverness
503 reviews
4.1 km away
Corriegarth Hotel
Corriegarth Hotel
#19 of 36 in Inverness
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Travelodge Inverness
Travelodge Inverness
#24 of 36 in Inverness
201 reviews
2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
4.1 km away
Heathmount Hotel
Heathmount Hotel
#13 of 36 in Inverness
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithton Hotel

Address: Smithton Road, Inverness IV2 7NL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range: ₹ 4,581 - ₹ 6,452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smithton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Smithton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithton Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing