We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rainynight in Inverness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A rainynight in Inverness”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

A blessing for us tumbling in from the pouring rain into the nice lobby of this perfectly situated hotel. Fireplace cracking and a warm drink served with a smile. This November night we got a lovely room at the back - behind the spa department. Clean and tidy. Also appreciated the fabulous service we got from the desk - early in the morning as well as late at night! Would love to stay here again...

Room Tip: The rooms at the back behind the spa dept. might be the more quiet ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GertFrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel.

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you the service was up to our usual standards.

I hope we can welcome you bck to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    464
    190
    78
    27
See reviews for
209
627
61
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed for 1 night, which was the final night of our honeymoon, after a disaster with a hostel! My mum booked the room online whilst we were walking to the hotel across Inverness, and everything was ready when we arrived 5 minutes later. We went straight into restaurant, and had lovely service from the waiters, and lovely food, served very promptly.
The room itself was gorgeous, a beautiful view of the river, and was very clean and nicely decorated.
Breakfast arrived at the room at the time we requested, as we would be leaving too early to have breakfast in the restaurant. It was lovely, fresh toast, orange juice and a pot of tea. The shower was AMAZING!! I love a good power shower, and I was NOT disappointed.

We had a lovely stay here, and it was such a blessing to have it after the awful experience we had previously.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel.

I'm delighted to read that your last night on honeymoon didn't disappoint, with a lovely front facing room looking over the river it's definitely romantic. I'm glad to read service and food was up to our usual standard.

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I must be fair by saying this hotel is in quite a good location close to the city with nice views if you're lucky enough (or have paid enough) for the rooms facing the river Ness and Inverness Castle. The spa and fitness area looked quite modern and new. The free (unsecured) Wi-Fi was also appreciated. The bar area was comfortable and well laid out.
The hotel is situated along a one way section of Ness Walk heading South so if driving be aware of this when trying to find the entrance to the car park. The parking itself is not very good. To the left of the hotel there are spaces for approx 15 cars yet due to it being over full we had to park in the overflow parking lot two blocks away which was an unsecured church car park. Amazingly, right out the front of the hotel was enough space to park another 8 cars or so but are reserved for deliveries & loading.
Check-in was relatively smooth and friendly and we were allocated room 308 at the back of the hotel with a window overlooking the roof of the spa and into the kitchen. After taking the lift up to the 3rd floor we came across the cleaning lady and unfortunately had to climb over her vacuum and trolley in the narrow hallway before getting to the room. Once we found our room we discovered door was left unlocked which was strange as it had already been cleaned. The room itself was of adequate size and clean. Unfortunately, although the radiator was off the room was very warm. Trying to sleep in this was made possible only by pulling the lumpy quilt out of the cover and sleeping under that with the window open. We also found the beds to be too hard for our liking but understand some people like it like that. The iron and ironing board looked as if it was from the 60s and was rather cumbersome to use.
The bathroom was clean and had adequate bench space to put your things. The shower was in one of the narrowest baths I've ever seen which was dangerous as there was no slip mat provided. On a more delicate note, the toilet paper dispenser was awkwardly situated behind you if seated which made it extremely difficult to reach.
The food for dinner was fine although it seemed the entire place was run by junior staff. The restaurant was located at the front of the building and the décor was nice apart from the carpet which was bunching in places making it a tripping hazard.
The following morning at approximately 5am we were suddenly woken by a slamming door from a nearby room and this continued at random for the rest of the morning. As I lay there wondering when we will hear the next slamming door I mused at the fact that a simple little 30 second adjustment is all it takes to prevent this. At 6am we then heard the continuous clanking of dishes being washed, amplified by ours and their open windows and by then we had enough and decided to just get up and go for breakfast.
Once again nothing but junior staff ran the affair. At one point I asked for the orange juice dispenser to be refilled and begrudgingly the waiter did so. Gladly this was made up for by the ample amount of hot and cold food to choose from.
Overall, if you don’t bring a car and are prepared to pay the extra premium for the front rooms it is possible to have a pleasant stay. Otherwise, I strongly recommend you go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Front rooms with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44holden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel all comments are taking on board and will be looked at by each individual department.

One note on the restaurant this was refurbished in May, the carpet is new and takes time to settle. I have checked with management and since your stay it has been stretched and will be monitored for future adjustments.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed between Christmas and new year on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. Service and food was excellent. Leisure facilities were clean and accessible. Plenty of parking and valet service if spaces are busy. A great location for shopping or Eden court. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazhick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMilton, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel

I'm glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us over the Christmas and New Year period and hope we can welcome you back to join in our celebreations again this year.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed 5 nights at this wonderful hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful. It was my husbands big birthday during our stay and they decorated our table and brought the cake out with a candle and everyone sang Happy Birthday. The food was excellent. We upgraded to a Superior room overlooking the River Ness and Inverness Castle. The room was huge and very clean. We even had a table and chairs in the Bay (The room was in one of the turretts of the building). The hotel is centrally positioned - just 2 mins away from the busy city of Inverness but far enough away to be very quiet. The spa and pool area were fantastic. All in all a fabulous place place to stay. Well done to all the great staff they are a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are fabulous. A bit pricey but for a special occassion well worth the extra. I hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Sales Manager at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel

I’m glad to read you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were friendly and helpful through your birthday celebrations.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.3 km away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
1.3 km away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.5 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,951 - ₹ 30,535
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish 3 star Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa in the heart of Inverness. Located on the banks of the River Ness overlooking the Castle it is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. You'll enjoy a fresh and contemporary hotel with a choice of dining in Eight on the River or the Brasserie. You can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. As well as a lovely selection of bedrooms from Classic rooms to period River View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings with extras including FREE Wifi, Free Car Parking and a superb upgraded Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing