We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
863 results
Traveller rating
564
199
56
29
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
564
199
56
29
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beauly firth drawing room resident ghost pink castle roaring fire kessock bridge four poster bed public rooms charming hotel wedding venue scones venison high tea relaxing stay fresh milk cooked to perfection black isle
Filter
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 863 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2015

Poor dinner experience. The portions were tiny and the vegetables non existent. Really expensive and a rip off! We complained to the hotel manager, but we didn't t get any money off the bill, which is terrible as it was £ 39 per head. The breakfast was also awful.

Room Tip: Do not book dining in the restaurant, you lol be disappointed by the lack of food
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Cinzia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager13791, General Manager at Bunchrew House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Thank you for your review, which as you promised, appeared here when we did not offer you a refund. We take this kind of threat very seriously, and refuse to be bullied into offering compensation when we have clearly done nothing to warrant such action.
We did not overcharge you for what you ordered, the prices are clearly marked on the menu. This claim of overcharging is slightly different than the direction of your emails, but I will put that to one side for now.
We at Bunchrew House Hotel are very proud of our levels of service, the quality of the guest's dining experience, and the kind words expressed by the majority of our guests, during and at the end of their stay. On the rare occasion that our actions do not live up to our own standards, we are happy to address and rectify the issue as required.
As explained in previous emails to you, the style of our award-winning evening dinner menu is table d'hote, not a la carte, and so is designed to be eaten over the many courses that this involves (amuse bouche, starter, mains, dessert, petit fours with coffee to finish)
Our guests with smaller appetites, may choose any two courses from the same menu, at a reduced price. We appreciate that not all guests have the experience of fine dining, and so we make these options very clear on our menus. Somehow, you managed to misread the obvious choices available, and then blamed us (the day after) for you not being full enough. At no point during your meal did you complain about your concerns, or we would have immediately offered a solution. I am happy to let the readers of this review judge for themselves what actually happened.
We offer a full service breakfast, with guests able to choose as much as they would like including fresh fruit, a selection of juices, smoked salmon, cereals, full Scottish etc. and our waiting staff will bring to your table, whatever you choose.
I'm sorry that you feel that receiving exactly what you'd ordered, didn't match your expectations. You did not complain about the quality, only the quantity....which, if you'd asked for double helpings, you would have received.
I do hope that by revisiting the memories of your stay at Bunchrew House, you will see your experience in a more positive light. You may even enjoy fine dining in the future now that we have helped you to understand the difference in styles of menus available. We sincerely hope that you will return to stay with us, and experience another discounted room offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Bunchrew House Hotel for one night before flying home from Inverness airport following a short holiday in The Isle of Skye.
The setting is absolutely stunning and the grounds peaceful with amazing views across the estuary. We had previously requested a room with a view, but in fact looked out over the front to the car park!
Our room was large and decorated how you would expect a country house hotel would be. Had a large comfy sofa, was very clean and had tea and coffee making facilities.
Bathroom was slightly dated with awful green lino on the floor, but again was clean and had ample hot water for showers etc.
The views from the restaurant were stunning and it was a lovely room. Service was attentive and food very good, both evening and breakfast. Staff were all very friendly.
To summarise, the hotel served its purpose as a peaceful and cosy place to spend the night before catching a flight from Inverness airport, and would certainly stay again if in the area.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tanglegooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Our family stayed for 2 nights at Bunchrew. It was a lovely base from which to explore Inverness and the surrounding area. We were very impressed with the size of our room. There was a large bed and sitting area with an alcove near the door. The hotel set up 2 twin beds in the alcove for the kids creating a "family suite"- something hard to find at most of the nicer hotels. The bathroom was huge with a nice shower and good water pressure. We found the rooms quiet and clean but the carpet and the bed linens were a bit worn and stained. We ate breakfast and one dinner in the dining room and found the food good but not as good as most other places we stayed. It seemed more about the ambiance than the food but I think next time we will opt to eat out and pay a more reasonable price. The staff was friendly and made us feel welcome. It is a bit out of town but an easy drive and worth a visit.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank fromthebluffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

The location is excellent. The park around the castle is impressive with these centenial trees.
We had a family room as we were travelling with our daughter. The room was large enough to accomodate all of us.
Thebreakfast was esquisite. The choice were fantastic, even offering eggs benedict, a rarity in Europe.
The only remark is that the linen and bed mattress are a bit outdated. You can feel the springs in the mattress....
Definitely recommend for the location, room, breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank michel_josee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

We stayed for three day at Bunchrew and it was a great experience! The landscape is really impressive, the gardens are magnificent and the view from our room was spectacular. The staff is great and my girls loved staying in a castle. The restaurant is also very good, we dined also in Inverness but the hotel restaurant is much better! It is also very well located to visit the Cairngorms, Loch Ness, the Isle of Skye and lots of idyllic places.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silviaoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews