We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect highlands tour for the whole family”

Inverness Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Discover the city of Inverness. Step back in time to understand the dynamic history and rich culture hidden our streets. Come on a journey and delve into our unique folklore, prophecies, curses and tales. Understand the stories behind Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series. Discover the true hidden stories of rebellions, the Jacobites, the Clans and our traditions.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect highlands tour for the whole family”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My family spent the day with Tony Harmsworth at the end of August. He managed to keep a 6 year-old, 10 year-old, 13 year-old, and their two parents, happy and entertained -- no small feat. We took the day tour to the Isle of Skye. The weather was good, the scenery magnificent, and Tony's commentary was both educational and entertaining. He adjusted the tour to the needs of my kids (more castle time, less scenery) while providing my wife and I with the historical perspective that our otherwise kid-centric vacation had been lacking up to that point.

We really enjoyed Tony's retelling of Scottish history. Mel Gibson should have consulted with him on Braveheart. Tony's rendition of the Battle of Stirling Bridge was far more interesting than how it was portrayed in the movie.

Tony is also THE MAN on the Loch Ness Monster. Having grown up a child in the 70's, I was obessessed with all things Big Foot and Nessie. So it was very interesting to spend the day with someone who really knows what happened out by the loch. Tony also delivered us to the "Harry Potter train bridge" just as the train (blowing smoke) was passing over it. It was, like the rest of the day, magical.

Helpful?
2 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyLochNess, Owner at Inverness Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Haha, I remember the frantic run up the hill to see the train crossing the viaduct. Thank goodness you were all fit. I couldn't keep up so only saw the end of the train vanishing in a plume of smoke.

To be honest, it is almost impossible to judge it right but we do do our best.

Regarding William Wallace ... I think my rendition of the battle might have warranted a double XX certificate! We just love Hollywood, because it gives us so many opportunities to put the story right!

Thanks for the lovely review. Very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Scotland comes alive with Tony of Inverness Tours”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Tony met us promptly us we disembarked off the Crown Princess. We were a group of eight off the ship for a day tour. Tony was wonderful. We visit historic sites, castles and the Culloden Battlefield. He is a great raconteur and made Scotland come alive for us. I highly recommend his tour.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel4Ever3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyLochNess, Owner at Inverness Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Coming ashore from a huge ship like the Crown Princess always presents certain challenges as the "usual suspect" attractions tend to be swamped by more visitors than they would normally see in a week.

With your group we worked around the congestion and managed to give you a hassle free visit.

Thanks so much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichtaart, Belgium
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Fantastic trip" would be an understatement”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

First of all, thank you George for the amazing tour you took us on and the great memories we have of the Highlands!!
The Caledonian forest, were we got the chance to take a walk by the river under the ancient pinetrees and seeing the many wonders of Glenn Affrics wildlife, the boat trip on Loch Ness to Urquhart Castle, the serenade from the pipe player, Beauly Abbey and all the beautifull sid we saw, would not have been the same without your company and the great stories you told us. We could not have wished for a better way to get to know a little bit more about the history and nature of Scotland. Make sure we will recomend you to our friends and family when they deside to have a holliday in Scotland. So they will have an unforgetable time as well...

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank WillyBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyLochNess, Owner at Inverness Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thanks for that super review. Glen Affric really is a magical place and we love taking people there as much as the visitors enjoy it themselves.

So glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First class tour from start to finish”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We only had a 4 days in Scotland and wanted to make the most of it. This was our outstanding pick. Took the train from Edinburgh to Inverness and George, our tour guide was waiting with a smile on his face.
We toured the sights of Loch Ness, the castle, boat ride and simply beautiful countryside. The Abbey was gorgeous as well as the bridge over the North Sea. The family is voting on the next tour when we return...thankfully we already know who to book with!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank BillB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyLochNess, Owner at Inverness Day Tours, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Absolutely great to read your review.

For the benefit of those reading it from outside the UK I ought to say that it wasn't a bridge over the actual North Sea, but over the Moray Firth which leads into the the North Sea. Quite impressive though.

Glad you liked the trip as well as the castle and boat trip too. That is great fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concesio, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had a great time!!”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This was our third trip to Scotland, we joined tours everytime, but this year's with Tony Harmsworth and his Inverness tour was the best. There was four of us and we were comfortably driven around while Tony told us about so many different things, people and places. He is really passionate about what he does and very knowledgeable. We saw Clava Cairns, Culloden battlefield, Cawdor Castle, Bleskine Cemetary, Fort Augustus and its abbey, Inverlochy castle. Not only Tony is very nice and funny, he is extremely good at narrating events. And if you really want to know about what's inside Loch Ness he is your man. The tour was totally tailored to our needs, we never had to rush back to the car like you have to do sometimes with other tours and had plenty of time for some really great pics, as he stopped so many times just to allow us to do that. I am sure the other guides with Inverness tours are as professional as Tony is and should I ever, like I hope, visit Scotland again this time I will not have to look much further, I totally recommend Inverness tours.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gabs72it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyLochNess, Owner at Inverness Day Tours, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Gaby, that is a terrific review. Thank you so much. Nice to keep in touch on Facebook, too through my LochNessTony account.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inverness Day Tours also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Inverness Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing