We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Melrose Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melrose Villa
Ranked #212 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed here for one night before heading out on walking holiday. It was OK, but nothing more. The room was small and the decor was tired, but it was clean, the breakfast was good. I was surprised to find the heating on in my room although it was a rather warm day. Also a fan heater in the dining room made the room uncomfortably warm. I would personally not return. It also has to be said that there's a ''for sale'' sign out front, so maybe the owner just isn't interested anymore. That was the impression I got.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    17
    16
    11
    25
See reviews for
20
19
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Melrose Villa is located under a 10 minute walk from Inverness City centre - just over the bridge. I was up for the big RUNRIG concert in the Northern Meeting Park, which was also just a 5 minute walk away, so couldn't fault the location.

My single room with en suite was fine for me. Very small with a wall-mounted portable TV leading to a toilet, sink and shower in the en suite. I just had a small hold-all with me, but can see how if you had a lot of luggage you might struggle to fit everything in the room without falling over it. Perfectly clean though and bed was comfy. The tea and coffee facilities were welcome.

Breakfast was hearty - bacon, egg, sausage, black pudding, mushrooms, tomato and toast. Could have done with a tattie scone for that Highland feel, but was tasty none the less. Cereal, orange/apple juice, fruit, tea and coffee was also on offer.

I'd recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a cheap bed for a night or 2 in Inverness City Centre. The host - Kenny, was also very friendly and had a good knowledge of the local attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 apparently have to share a bathroom. If this bothers you, ask for one of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blairman_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Discusting bathroom, no heating, food that's past due, owner who's not there when guests arrive and who doesn't care or apologize about it, paper thin walls, wi-fi connexion that works so badly you just want to throw the computer off the window, furniture that's useless since it's stuck behind a bed, tiny twin room not ensuite when it's supposed to be, such an uncomfortable matress that you can count the springs in it... what more is there to say?! This place was recommended by Petit fûté... this book is not even reliable! Most of the spots it recommends are badly rated on trip advisor!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaya24_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

THis was an unexpected find. Our expectations were low since we found this at the last minute. However, we couldn't have been more wrong. From the moment we arrived, our host, Kenny, made us feel at home. He entertained us with wonderful stories during breakfast, together with chocolate Easter eggs for Easter. The breakfast was hearty and plentiful. While our room did not have its own bathroom, we had ready access to one just outside the door. The house was unique and utterly charming. Kenny was one of the most interesting people we met on our travels. He made the experience one to remember.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weekend_traveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I had no accommodation coming over from south africa to visit my son and upon arrival in inverness, I was recommended to go to Kenny MacKay at Villa Melrose. Kenny is a charming host and made me feel so at home. His home is warm and friendly, the breakfasts very good and the accommodation was clean and comfortable. Very very grateful to him as arriving in high season with the highland games I was lucky to get his last room and then making a new friend - what a bonus!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackwatch09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 km away
Cedar Villa Guest House
Cedar Villa Guest House
#104 of 231 in Inverness
148 reviews
0.0 km away
Mardon Guest House
Mardon Guest House
#54 of 231 in Inverness
200 reviews
0.5 km away
Waverley Guest House
Waverley Guest House
#214 of 231 in Inverness
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Craig Villa Guest House
Craig Villa Guest House
#44 of 231 in Inverness
185 reviews
0.3 km away
Whin Park Guest House
Whin Park Guest House
#187 of 231 in Inverness
59 reviews
1.6 km away
Royston Guest House
Royston Guest House
#78 of 231 in Inverness
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Villa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Villa

Property: Melrose Villa
Address: 35 Kenneth Street, Inverness, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,245 - ₹ 11,717
Hotel Class:3 star — Melrose Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Melrose Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Villa Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing