We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St Clair Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Thurso)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
18
38
20
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
38
20
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasic hotelseafood platterfirst floorevening meals areone night staykipperstwin roomdining roomtwo nightsvery pleasant staynice roomwould stay againfirst classscotlandlaundrytoiletriescoast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2017

This hotel has modest size rooms with single beds, a well set out en suite bathroom and a spacious dining room serving good food in a friendly way. It was very comfy and warm. While I only stayed one night passing through, you could stay for a few days and you would be comfortable and not have spent a fortune.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

As I'm finding most hotels in Thurso are old buildings that are a wee bit quirky.
The St Clair facilities are all good and functional that I experienced having stayed twice now.
Whilst some fixtures and fittings are looking tired everything functions adequately.
Evening meals are well presented and tasty.
Breakfast has a simple choice of buffet juice/cereals with the cooked option made to order.
The bar and restaurant areas lack a bit of character but again serve their function.
Staff are cheery and helpful.
If you want to keep in touch found the tv and Wi-Fi signals better than some major city hotels I've stayed in!
Rooms have all the things that you need and should expect from most hotels/b&b accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and had a corner room that was bright,
nicely decorated in brown plaid, and clean. Dinners were served family style and were tasty. Breakfast was the usual Scottish style. The staff was friendly, helpful, and hard working.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank grandma_sue63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We didn’t know what to expect for accommodations as we moved toward the “less populated" areas of Scotland. The St. Claire was a very interesting hotel. We were told it was built by combining 5 adjoining homes, so not all the hallways between the homes align. The rooms were smaller, but sufficiently large to be comfortable and very clean. Being a combination of homes, the rooms are the rooms from the homes, not rooms specially built for a hotel. Although the furniture in the room was fairly standard, nothing modern, the beds were very comfortable. We were also told the hotel is privately owned by a husband and wife. The service they and their staff provided and their friendliness was equal to any of the much larger hotels we stayed at during the tour. Breakfast was very well done with a buffet of cereals, eggs, baked beans, tomatoes, breads, etc. Most surprising was dinner. I think we were expecting more “homey” or rustic dinners. But the dinners were excellently prepared and presented, tasted very fresh and a bit on the more upscale side…excellent quality. If you are in the Thurso area, the St Clair should be on your list of hotels

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lynchburgfoodie542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

An alright hotel, nothing special. Room was clean and staff ok but everything just enough to get by rather than being anything special. Save your money on breakfast and go somewhere else. If wanting to park, be aware that it's just on the road wherever you can find a space.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews