We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
22
41
22
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
41
22
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basic hotel seafood platter bus tour twin room first floor evening meals are kippers would stay again only stayed one night dining room nice room very pleasant stay two nights b bs good size first class scotland
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2017

We stayed here 2 nights on our Globus tour and it was absolutely Lovely. The rooms are a bit small by US standards but our bathroom was very nice and had plenty of light. The food served at breakfast and dinner was top rate. I sent some clothes out for laundry and it was so inexpensive I wish I had sent more, the do ask for 24 hour turn around so take them to the desk after dinner collect them the next evening.

Room Tip: tesco and other shops are nearby
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

There are no luxury hotels in the north of Scotland. We stayed here for 2 nights on a Globus tour and were well-satisfied with this location. Our room was small but comfortable and the food was good. Because there are few places where a bus-group can eat in Thurso, we ate both breakfast and dinner here and they were actually quite good. This hotel was basic but clean, friendly and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RandyRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

The common areas of this hotel have been worked on and are quite nice. Given the more remote nature of the location a bit of rustic-ness could be forgiven, however the room I was in was so small as to be not functionable. Single bed dominated the room with no real space for luggage and could sit on bed to use desk which was just as well as the chair was a bit rickety. Food a little odd with chicken cacciatore 6 cubes of chicken on the plate with an orange colored sauce and nothing else on plate. 45 minute wait for toast first morning and not asked what i wanted off the menu second. I think the owners are trying and staff are pleasant but the single rooms are just not pleasant

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank bd1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Public areas are very clean and well maintained, obviously updated on a regular basis. Rooms are a bit more dated, however spotlessly clean and although bathrooms are very basic they are clean and do the job. Shower had great water pressure (something that was a hit and miss affair in other hotels).

As a family run hotel your not getting the Ritz but you do get friendly service and the cheapest laundry service we saw during our travels with reasonable prices and quick reliable service.

Would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a double room rather than a single
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LoveMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We stayed here as a base for our ferry trip to Orkney and were disappointed by the smallness of the room, lack of space for cases etc, having to lug these upstairs, and then to be told that there were no baths only showers, was not a good first impression. however the location and the breakfast and staff proved to be very good.

Room Tip: if you have mobility problems, ensure you ask for a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanLedbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews