We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
126
96
24
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
96
24
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews residents lounge pizza oven lovely hotel overlooking the bay high standard steak dining room enjoyed our stay room was spacious fantastic views short stay evening meal first class good nights sleep local area stayed for one night cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2017

First impressions very good- room spacious and comfortable, everything looked fresh and in good condition. Hospitality tray well stocked. Wall sized mural-map of the north coast in the restaurant was great. As others have reported, the restaurant menu was quite limited, but we wanted pizza so that was fine, and we had a side order of chips which were exceptionally tasty. The only thing that spoiled our stay, and would stop us from returning, is that the food took such a long time to arrive. We wanted to eat and get away, keen to explore the beach on a beautiful evening. But we were in the restaurant for 2 hours 15 min, for pizza and dessert (dessert took 45 mins to arrive, apparently because there is a nervous solo chef, who had to do the other guests' main courses before he could do our seconds). So embarrassed were the waitresses that they tried to reassure us that it would arrive "in 2 minutes" and eventually gave us free coffees- which were very nice.
Breakfast this morning was much quicker, only took 30 mins to arrive, and we had plenty of tea and toast to keep us occupied meanwhile!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank thehomers2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

A bit of a mixed bag. Looks like they are trying very hard to take it to the next level, newly decorated with rooms that are pretty comfortable, but lack warmth and those extra little touches that you expect for £95 a night. Menu is heavily focused on the pizza range, but if you look hard enough there are decent alternatives. Melvich itself is not a tourist destination, more of a pit stop for the NC 500, so the hotel is competing with b&b's which are probably better value. Breakfast buffet is poor by comparison, standard supermarket bread and tinned grapefruit. The entertainment comes from Mrs Overall running around trying to remember room numbers and who ordered what. Priceless!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THFC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

The Melvich Hotel is a welcoming and well appointed haven on the north coast of Scotland. Clean and comfy rooms and a popular restaurant with sea views.
Staff are friendly and efficient making this a good stop on the North Coast 500.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

As the most expensive booking of our two week holiday travelling the NC 500 we were expecting a lot from the Melvich Hotel. It didn't disappoint from the views which were stunning! The room was spacious and clean and tastefully decorated. The shower was excellent and had plenty of hot water.

The hotel could have benefited from clear signage on the outside which it didn't have and we drove straight past it, but maybe that was not finished as it had only been open three days after a six month revamp.

We were looking forward to eating dinner there but on the night we stayed the menu was limited with only one steak or fish choice or pizzas. After we both ordered steak the waitress came back to say there wasn't any and we were lucky to be the last diners to get the fish choice. We watched the poor waitress (who was absolutely excellent) having to deal with several disgruntled diners who didn't like pizza but there was nothing else on the menu. Breakfast was smaller portions and less choice than other places we stayed at, but was very tasty!

If you want to meet the very friendly locals head to the public bar joined on to the hotel. We had a fun night and got to learn a lot about the area.

Highlight of the stay - The staff. Chloe and Jenny were both very friendly, extremely professional and made us feel very welcome.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SIlver P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Modern decoration whilst still keeping the history. Loved looking through the visitors book dating from 1940's.
Lovely helpful staff.
Beautiful views, & peaceful location.
Clean, modern, large comfortable room.
A little bit if luxury at the very top of Scotland.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank vonniedlm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews