We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

kdfaefarf...
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Retreat”
Reviewed 24 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A lovely little haven, which was very comfortable, cosy and we'll equipped. Had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and very well located for exploring the Aviemore area. Thanks Karen

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsTrave...
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy apartment, great location.”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Retreat is an excellent self-catering apartment, it is well stocked with utensils for cooking and logs for burning. We were really impressed to find a fresh loaf of bread, milk, butter and shortbread upon our arrival, it was a really nice touch!

The Retreat is really cosy and perfect for a quiet break from work. It's a short walk from Tesco and a short drive from Cairngorms National Park, so it 's perfect for experiencing the outdoors. We had to cut our stay short unexpectedly, but we both look forward to staying again in the future.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Little additions like the bread, butter, milk and shortbread, very thoughtful touches!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanic0
2 reviews
“Clean, modern with friendly owners”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The retreat was excellent value with nice modern and comfortable rooms. The owners were very approachable and friendly. Aviemore is an excellent location to stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
607christ...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth a visit - brilliant trip!”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Not only is The Retreat ideally located in Aviemore, but the accommodation is very spacious and well kept - perfect place to come back to after a long day exploring the Cairngorms! David, Lynne and Sue were all extremely welcoming and more than happy to help with anything we asked about. Although the wood-burning stove should not be required at this time of year, we couldn't resist trying it out to heat up after being caught in the rain - only in Scotland!
Amazing trip; and would definitely recommend staying here! I'm sure we will be back :)
Thanks again!!

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My wife and I stayed at The Retreat @ Strathspey House for five nights. The accommodation was fantastic, really beautifully presented, warm and included plenty of fuel for the woodburner. The kitchen was very well equipped for self catering and Tesco is a 10min walk away.

David and his family were really helpful and welcoming, David picked us up from the station when we arrived and we were able to leave details with them when heading up into the mountains.

David also helped us out when we couldn't connect to the wifi and looked up the bus timetables that we needed for us. As it turns out the inability to connect was a problem with our tablet that I have fixed now that we're back home – so David if you are reading this the answer to the conundrum was that our wifi adapter was playing up!

My wife and I were mainly hiking and so the location was pretty much perfect. There is an intermittent bus into the Cairngorms so you'll need to plan your walking carefully so as not to miss it but it is definitely worth doing as the mountain range is spectacular, walkhighlands.com have several routes around the Aviemore area, well worth checking out if you're planning on walking.

All in all we had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to go back. If we were to stay in Aviemore again, this is where we'd go! Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Mar 2016
Jamie
Thank-you for your kind review, it was a pleasure having you both staying with us and thank-you for the internet info )))).
Wishing you both all the best
Regards
David, Lynne & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.