We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
33
83
63
41
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
83
63
41
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsironing board and ironitalian mealample wardrobe spaceother hotelswould stay here againservice liftthe check in processthird floorbed and breakfasthigher standardbreakfast servicedirty platesnice resortflat screensteam room and saunaaspects restaurantmodern hotel
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We stayed here for one night prior to running the Aviemore half marathon. The room was fairly small and makes poor use of space. Decorated well BUT has to large arm chair and a very coffee table in a very small room - surely a more effective use of space would be to have smaller furniture! Also we asked for a double bed but were given a twin.
However, my overall feeling of the hotel is that it is way overpriced. We paid £125 for one night incl breakfast, however the room was tiny. Customer service wasn't great as we didn't find the staff on the desk particularly welcoming. We didn't have time (or energy!) to use the facilities of the resort so can't comment.
Breakfast was good quality.
Generally not a bad hotel but fails as it is simply FAR too expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 702traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Dear '702traveller''

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor

I am sorry that you did not feel that the price you paid was representative of your stay, your comments regarding the room and customer service are worrying and I am sorry you had such a negative experience.

We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Kind Regards
Ruth Dixon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Had a very pleasant stay at the resort.The room was very clean and bed very comfortable. Staff helpful and pleasant. 5 minute walk down hill to Main Street in Aviemore to local restaurants,bars, shops etc although several restaurants and bar in resort .Restaurant at breakfast time is extremely busy and noisy during school holidays so best avoided if you prefer a quite more relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Dear 'Sylvia K'

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor

Your review is very pleasing to read and I am glad that you had such an enjoyable stay here at the resort. Your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of the room, staff members and location of the resort are lovely to read.

We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Kind Regards
Ruth Dixon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night bnb. Checkin was fast and simple. Directions to our room were clear. The room was lovely, large and clean. The breakfast was buffet but plenty of choice and most importantly hot.
One small problem was that the shower head was live. We informed reception and were offered an apology and a change of room which we didn't take as it was late and we were only staying one night. On mentioning this problem again when checking out, the response kind of through me a bit. I'm not in a position to give you a refund '. I didn't ask for a refund, I was only making sure that it had been logged.

On the whole though we had a nice stay.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank andysbarbershop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Dear 'andysbarbershop'

Many thanks for leaving a review on TripAdvisor for the resort. I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Your comments on breakfast and our check in procedure are especially pleasing. I apologise that you had an issue with the shower head in your room, but I can guarantee that this issue has now been remedied.

We hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Kind Regards
Ruth Dixon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

This beautiful hotel is much more than just a place to sleep . The rooms are large and beautifully appointed with heather patterned woven fabrics. Roomy bathrooms with great towels and amenities. The hotel is a city in itself with several restaurants , a bar, shopping center, skiing, horse riding and even a movie theatre!
I would give it a full five of the casual restaurant were not just average

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank groupleader45212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We stayed here for two nights and we were a bit concerned about the number of poor reviews we had read. However, the hotel has responded to this sort of feedback, and we didn't see any evidence of the problems that others have mentioned. Staff were always in attendance where and when you expected them, and couldn't have been more helpful. Our room was very good - recently refurbished, with good quality furniture, a king-size bed and a terrific shower room. Breakfast, in the main reception building, was equally good. The complex has a swimming pool which is very popular, and a cinema, with new releases. Our only disappointment was dinner at Giovanni's restaurant, where, incredibly, they could not do lasagne the night that we ate there!

We got the impression that management and staff have been working hardtop respond to guests' criticisms, and they are succeeding.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socratesDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Dear 'socratesDundee'

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the room that you stayed in, and that the problems you had read about had been remedied.

We pride ourselves on high levels of customer service, so I am glad to read that you experienced these high standards. Your comments about the leisure facilities are pleasing to read.

I can only apologise that your experience at Giovannis was not as you expected.

We are constantly working to improve, and your review will help us to move forward. We hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Kind Regards
Ruth Dixon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews