We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Beautifully decorated room, very large and spacious bed. Only negative was our room was near the lift and the lift was noisy.that said would definitely stay again. Steak house restaurant food was amazing. The whole location is perfect

Room Tip: For quiet rooms ask to be away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonf119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Dear 'Jonf119'

Many thank for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor

It is with great pleasure that I read your review, with your kind comments regarding the room, bed and food in our Scottish Steakhouse are greatly appreciated. We would be more that happy to welcome you back to enjoy another stay with us.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Ruth Dixon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2016

We stayed here for one night prior to running the Aviemore half marathon. The room was fairly small and makes poor use of space. Decorated well BUT has to large arm chair and a very coffee table in a very small room - surely a more effective use of space would be to have smaller furniture! Also we asked for a double bed but were given a twin.
However, my overall feeling of the hotel is that it is way overpriced. We paid £125 for one night incl breakfast, however the room was tiny. Customer service wasn't great as we didn't find the staff on the desk particularly welcoming. We didn't have time (or energy!) to use the facilities of the resort so can't comment.
Breakfast was good quality.
Generally not a bad hotel but fails as it is simply FAR too expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 702traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Dear '702traveller''

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor

I am sorry that you did not feel that the price you paid was representative of your stay, your comments regarding the room and customer service are worrying and I am sorry you had such a negative experience.

We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Kind Regards
Ruth Dixon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Had a very pleasant stay at the resort.The room was very clean and bed very comfortable. Staff helpful and pleasant. 5 minute walk down hill to Main Street in Aviemore to local restaurants,bars, shops etc although several restaurants and bar in resort .Restaurant at breakfast time is extremely busy and noisy during school holidays so best avoided if you prefer a quite more relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Dear 'Sylvia K'

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor

Your review is very pleasing to read and I am glad that you had such an enjoyable stay here at the resort. Your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of the room, staff members and location of the resort are lovely to read.

We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Kind Regards
Ruth Dixon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night bnb. Checkin was fast and simple. Directions to our room were clear. The room was lovely, large and clean. The breakfast was buffet but plenty of choice and most importantly hot.
One small problem was that the shower head was live. We informed reception and were offered an apology and a change of room which we didn't take as it was late and we were only staying one night. On mentioning this problem again when checking out, the response kind of through me a bit. I'm not in a position to give you a refund '. I didn't ask for a refund, I was only making sure that it had been logged.

On the whole though we had a nice stay.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank andysbarbershop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Dear 'andysbarbershop'

Many thanks for leaving a review on TripAdvisor for the resort. I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Your comments on breakfast and our check in procedure are especially pleasing. I apologise that you had an issue with the shower head in your room, but I can guarantee that this issue has now been remedied.

We hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Kind Regards
Ruth Dixon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

This beautiful hotel is much more than just a place to sleep . The rooms are large and beautifully appointed with heather patterned woven fabrics. Roomy bathrooms with great towels and amenities. The hotel is a city in itself with several restaurants , a bar, shopping center, skiing, horse riding and even a movie theatre!
I would give it a full five of the casual restaurant were not just average

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank groupleader45212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.2 km away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
2.3 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
8.3 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
803 reviews
10.7 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
10.4 km away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Next to the Conference Center | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: ₹ 8,402 - ₹ 15,502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of three 4-star hotels located within Macdonald Aviemore Resort in the centre of Aviemore in the Cairngorms National Park. The hotel itself is home to our popular Giovanni's Italian Ristorante and the contemporary Morlich Lounge and Bar - the best place in Aviemore for afternoon teas! The wider resort offers guests a further 3 restaurants, a luxury shopping centre, a cinema and Aviemore Activity Centre which boasts a huge leisure pool, soft play and activity rooms for children of all ages. There's also Macdonald Spey Valley Championship Golf Course in Aviemore, only 5 minutes along the road, hotel guests can get transfers and discounts on green fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Morlich Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing