We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ardlogie Bothy

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kirsty M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Loved our stay at Ardlogie Bothy, the hosts were so friendly and very helpful! The Bothy was exceptionally clean and there was even a bottle of wine, pate and oatcakes waiting for us when we arrived. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Many thanks for your kind comments & taking the time to post a review. We're absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Bothy and hope to see you both again!

Haste Ye Back!

Best Wishes
Kirsty & Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisandro...
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ski lodge weekend visit”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed an absolutely amazing stay at the bothy

as others have said everything you've read in the description is thoroughly accurate; it's charming and an amazing place to come back to after a busy day on the slopes.

The hot tub in the garden is the perfect way to recover and sooth the legs before an evening meal in town, just five minute walk away.

Kevin and Kirsty gave us a very warm welcome and fantastic advise both before and during our stay, please listen to the recommendations as we were truly greeted like friends when we mentioned at the winking owl and the ski hire shop that we were staying with them and Macdui's even gave us a discount on food.

It is clear to see Kevin and Kirsty are fondly regarded in the town and they put effort in to building a warm community that just made for a more enjoyable stay

Thanks guys

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Many thanks for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review. It was lovely to meet you both and we hope that you come back soon!

Haste Ye Back!

Best Wishes
Kirsty & Kevin
Ardlogie Self Catering
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cairngorms on your doorstep”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great location. Cairngorms a short distance away and close to the shops. Very homely and welcoming. It was cosy and had everything you could possibly need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2016
Many thanks for your kind comments and taking the time to post a reivew. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Haste Ye Back!

Best Wishes
Kirsty & Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander...
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome location, bothy & hosts - Aviemore at it's best!!!”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We absolutely LOVED our stay at the bothy!! Everything you've read is thoroughly accurate; it's charming and cosy and an amazing place to come back to after a busy day on the slopes or in the hills (or at the pub!!).

Kevin and Kirsty are known everywhere which means you end up feeling a bit like a superstar, and they have great recommendations for places to eat and drink and hire ski stuff, as well as discounts at restaurants that they have secured for their guests. Their enthusiasm for Aviemore and the Cairngorms is infectious; I don't think it would be possible to stay with them and not end up loving Ardlogie and the area!!

The finishing touches in the bothy are gorgeous; and it's really well kitted out, and so reasonable for what you get. I cannot tell you how amazing the hot shower is and the lovely towelling dressing gowns after a day falling over on the ski slopes!!

It's also in a perfect spot - on a quiet road but a 3 minute (if that!) walk to all the bars, shops and restaurants over the fabulous Aviemore railway bridge. The surrounding area is also gorgeous, with amazing walks and lochs to see. There are loads of great places to eat and drink at too - we loved our apres ski pint at Macdui's and the warm fire of the Cairngorm hotel (and their live music is awesome, especially Tweed, a 3 piece ceilidh band - we loved them!).

We also found everyone in Aviemore were really friendly, with great senses of humour and fun, great customer service and a general sense that they love the area, which makes any holidaymaker love it too.

Thanks Kevin & Kirsty for a wonderful, homely and brilliantly fun stay!! We loved every minute and will be back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2016
Many thanks for your comments & taking the time to post a review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay & hope you visit again soon.

Best Wishes
Kirsty & Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calum c
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy Bothy, quality accomodation”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 nights in August 2015 and were welcomed by the owners who were lovely and friendly . There was a welcome pack of milk, wine and bread which was perfect. The accomodation was cosy, clean and well equipped. The town centre only a short walk away. A parking space at the door. It met our hopes and expectations. Despite being near the railway station it was very quiet and peaceful.The hot tub in garden was a lovelybonus.

Perfect base for a couple on a short break.Would recommend highly to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was super.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Many thanks for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!

Haste Ye Back!

Best Wishes
Kirsty & Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing