We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but a little noisy at night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food but a little noisy at night”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed with 2 teenage boys over February half term.
Hotel was very clean and comfortable, the food was excellent.
Bar prices where very expensive.
The only problems we had was the boys , both 15yrs old, not being allowed in the pool alone! They just wanted to swin, but we had to sit in the very hot pool area and watch. that felt very strange and uncomfortable!
We had a problem with a group of young men in the room next to us, very noisey foul moulthed and drunk, partying until 4am! They should ahve out them on an adult section not where there where lots of families!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aly63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    1,042
    653
    338
    188
See reviews for
1,443
930
55
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Having stayed at this hotel on numerous occassions over the last 30 years I can only agree that it is getting a bit shabby. Our room 201, like others have said the stair way to the second floor is very narrow and smells musty. The corridors could also do with a good coat of paint. The window sill in our room had been patched, very poorly, the soffit was crumbling outside the window and we couldn't turn the radiator down. The restaurant has undergone a refurb and looks fresh and modern. They like many establishments have opted for a "model" menu which doesn't change. I like to be able to peruse a menu and have diferrent choices each night as it used to be here. Maybe they should take my suggestion of offering a daily special to enhance the choice. I believe that the pool area is next on the refurb list so hopefully they will get around to the corridors and rooms some time soon.

Room Tip: Don't go to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Lovely stay- room excellent.

Great food and the location was great with the ability to walk through the forest to the loch.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Harris, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

First of all this is NOT a normal Hilton standard hotel. It was Ok and if we had paid Ok prices we would probably have been reasonably happy. However we paid a lot of money for what we can only call at best 3 star treatment. We must have had the furtherest possible room from reception (room 271) and with no lifts this meant dodging other guests on the dismal and narrow stairwells. We arrrived Sunday for a six day break. Althouth the staff were really great, they were clearly short staffed and the service at dinner and breakfast was diabolical. Also the prices for food and drink were hugely over inflated. Our room was called a suite but it was a very small double with a bunk room within. To summarise, we made the best of it but we feel entirely riupped off for what was provided here. An extremely disappointing example of the Hilton brand we had become to love.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nonimaclennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed here for four nights in a family suite, so we had an extra room for our daughter containing bunk beds. We ate in the restuarant, and had a drink in the woodshed and main bar. We also used the swimming pool each day. We have stayed at other hotels and B&Bs in Aviemore, and this is our favourite place.

On arrival, we were met by a polite receptionist who explained the facilities in the hotel, meal times and arrangements, given the WiFi code, and shown to our room. An excellent check-in experience. We found the reception staff excellent in all our dealings with them.

Not having a lift is disappointing, however, there are enough comments on this forum that mention this, so it did not come of any surprise. The carpets are worn in places on the stairs (probably because there is no lift), and the hotel could do with a lick of paint. However, the hotel was clean, and the "tiredness" is simliar to other places we have stayed in Aviemore.

The breakfasts were super - a typical Hilton breakfast - so we always had a good start to the day. The evening meals promised much....a varied and nice looking menu, but we found the food tended to be overcooked. If dinner was not included in our rate, we probably would not have eaten here. Indeed, we did venture elsewhere one night. There was nothing drastically wrong with the food, there are just better places to eat nearby.

We enjoyed the swimming pool. Children are allowed in until 5pm (I think - it could be earlier or later). There are two pools, one deeper than the other. There was a short slide in the shallower one, which the children enjoyed, and a couple of jacuzzis. Towels are provided, and the lockers are free. They also have swimming costume dryers, which is a nice touch.

As I mentioned above, we had a drink in the woodshed which was reasonably priced, and a nice place to go. We sat outside on the terrace for a while.. We had a drink in the main bar when there was a magician for the children. I agree with other posts that the cost of drinks was very high. £12 for a glass of sauvingon blanc!

We visited the funhouse. The soft play is very good, and has a walkway around the outside all of the way round, so easy to find the children! The funhouse also serves snacks and drinks.

But the main benefit of this hotel is the location. With so much to do in and around Aviemore, this hotel not only provides a very convenient place to stay for visitiing the area, but also has some good facilities itself.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lookingtorelax_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
12.2 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
249 reviews
8.8 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,283 reviews
2.5 km away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
13.6 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
557 reviews
2.3 km away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Property: Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Address: Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,248 - ₹ 25,829
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing