We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, close to the mountains...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Bank Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Bank Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Lovely place, close to the mountains...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Pine bank chalets are self catering, beautiful pine lodges set just 5mins outside the heart of Aviemore town. Pub close by and a 5 min walk from the train station!
The 2 of us stayed for 2 nights in the cabin called 'Nethy'. A basic one bedroomed cabin. We were very pleased with the quick collection of the key from reception - totally hassle free! We had already paid in full prior to arrival though... £126 for 2nts.
Parking was not a problem although the cabin facing us seemed empty at the time. I felt if the other cabins would have been full, parking would have been an issue! It felt like we were the only people staying in any of the chalets as saw nobody for our whole stay - BLISS, ha.
We dont feel we picked one of the best cabins, as the train track was very close behind the cabin, a road 150m to the side of it and the noise of the trains was slightly annoying to be honest till quite late at night. This didnt bother us enough to complain as we werent there all day as we were out in the mountains and very tired when we returned.
Cairngorm national park is very close by - 10/15min drive! You can park at the ski centre free of charge and there is lots of options for great days walking on the mountains. We headed for Ben macdui and Cairngorm!
Self catering facilities were excellent. Fully equipped kitchen, cooker, hob, fridge, microwave... Bathroom was lovely and clean and quite spacious.
All in all we had a lovely time and would love to return but to a different cabin, maybe with a view too!

Room Tip: The cabins closer to the river would be the better choice to avoid train and road noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    47
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
73
71
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed here in January for a 2night break with the in laws. Gorgeous, homely chalet- very warm & cosy! The kitchen is well equipt & the beds are extremely comfortable!
I can imagine this would be great in the summer- there is an outdoor bbq & a play area for kids.
Staff very friendly & helpful.
Not far from the cairngorm mountain and aviemore centre, feels like you are in the middle of nowhere but you aren't- the chalets are very close to everything!
Will most certainly be back here one day, soon hopefully!!
We were torn between booking this & Macdonald- between the 2 i am so glad we chose pinebank!
We stayed in the Bynack chalet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lormullen033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed at Cairn Lochan in Pine Bank Chalets with a group of friends for a week. We were impressed with the location of the lodges as they felt rural yet it was only a 10 minute walk into Aviemore. All the lodges were nicely spread out and we didnt feel like we were disturbing anybody else throughout our stay. We were very close to the bunkhouse and pub and there was no disturbance whatsoever. The facilities at Pine Bank like the bike hire are great, convenient and reasonable. The staff we encountered during our stay were really helpful and friendly and seemed keen to ensure we had a good stay.

The cabin itself was nicely furnished and gave us everything we needed. It got warm really quickly and there were more than enough heaters to keep the place comfortable.The bedrooms were small but perfectly formed. There was enough space in the cabin for four of us plus luggage. Again, the kitchen was small but more than adequate and came with everything you might need (except sugar but you can nick sachets from the cafes in Aviemore). The bathroom was clean, fresh and spacious. The shower was wonderfully hot and as it was a power shower there was no waiting around. The living space was perfect, particularly the TV on a bracket as it was easy to push it back and forget all about it. The only suggestion I could make to improve the lodge would be a coffee table in the lounge.

Overall I would reccommend Pine Bank as a place to stay in Aviemore as its location gives you the best of both worlds. The team there and the experience we had ensured we had a great time and its certainly an experience we will be repeating.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rflm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I stayed at Pinebank Chalets for Hogmanay with a large group of friends (in three chalets) and we had a great stay. The location is perfect - only a five minute walk from the town - and the facilities were very good. Some of us stayed in the houses and some in the chalets. They were all very clean and kitted out with everything we needed. Really comfy beds, great showers and such good value for money. Perfect for our group and as a base for exploring the Cairngorms.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MsPotatoHead81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

The location of the chalets is good. Not quite rural but quiet enough for you to be able to imagine you are in a forest somewhere.

Overall these chalets are ok. Our was rated 4 star but in comparison to other 4 star chalets we have stayed in i was very disappointed with this one.

Bedrooms are small but do the job. This was our second stay and since the first they have made little changes here and there by putting in new curtains and sofas.

However our bathroom was very dated - shower cubicle had lino on the walls and felt very sticky.

There is a space at the front door to hand your jackets and leave your boots etc but sadly it is not lit or heated so if anything is wet it tends to stay wet. Not so good for walkers or snowsport fans. The chalet we stayed in heated up very quickly.

Kitchen is equipped with the very basic utensils and plates etc that you would need. One major point - these chalets are not cheap and you do not get anything supplied - no soap, no dishwashing liquid, no bingbags even though the bins require them, no cleaning materials inc sponges or cloths for the kitchen. So take your own stuff. There will usually be a couple of toilet rolls though. Again, for the money you would expect a basic supply of soap and cleaning materials.

I would recommend these chalets but do feel they are overpriced for what you get.

Room Tip: Choose a chalet far from the backpackers hostel and pub to one side of the chalet park as it can hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toffee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.9 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.3 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
8.4 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.2 km away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 31 in Aviemore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.1 km away
Silverglades Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Bank Chalets? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Bank Chalets

Property: Pine Bank Chalets
Address: Dalfaber Road, Aviemore PH22 1PX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,314 - ₹ 11,446
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Pinebank Chalets Hotel Aviemore
Pine Bank Chalets Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing