We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Argyll Western Hotel
Ranked #3 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This was my second stay at the hotel. Just as friendly staff as the first time, really can't do enough to help. The cooked breakfast was quite plain but obviously freshly cooked and delicious! Really good value for money. Single room was compact but cosy, I had also booked a twin for some of my stay which was very spacious! Will certainly be back next time I'm in Glasgow. Nothing outstanding or fancy, but great for the price.

Room Tip: I'd go for the back as quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ljhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel with great location within Glasgow city. Friendly staff and hotel was comfortable. Price did not include breakfast but only £5 to add for it - good options with free bag of strawberries! Many thanks for the lovely stay

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Najiha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Booked online and what a wonderful place. The rooms were very nice and clean. The amenities were nice. You had the breakfast option of a full Scottish breakfast included with the room. We were very impressed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Land_of_Kansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

I don't normally complain but
The bed was the worst mattress I've slept on - really cheap - my back hurt ! I asked to swap it - nothing happened on the 1st night . They said they might change rooms on on the 2nd night and that it was a new mattress ( v v cheap if it was) . When I got back - nothing had been done was still the same so eventually the pleasant receptionist rang the manager. Lo and behold there was a spare foam mattress in the basement- why couldn't this have been sorted on the 1st night ? the receptionist and I carted this to the 2nd floor and swapped em over . This was much better. Overall v pleasant staff , eventually helped u out .. Rubbish mattress ... Which they tried to fob u off with .
This isn't the cheapest hotel in the area and I didn't expect this ... Learn from Premier inn ... All people really care about is the quality of bed / sleep .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We needed a place to stay in Glasgow before we started off on a week's train tour of northern Scotland. This place fit the bill. The staff was beyond accommodating. The room, although smallish, was more than comfortable (had a slight problem with room temperature but got it solved easily). Good location - walk to Botanical Gardens, ATMs, grocery store and of course good pubs and dining. Breakfast was satisfying and freshly cooked. When needed, the staff called taxis at the best price.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
847 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 93 in Glasgow
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
335 reviews
Alamo Guest House
#1 of 35 in Glasgow
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Western Hotel

Address: 6 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 8EB, Scotland (Formerly Lomond Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: ₹ 3,642 - ₹ 10,318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Argyll Western is a Grade A listed building located in Glasgow's iconic West End, close to the Botanic Gardens, University of Glasgow, and The Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum. Also nearby is The Museum of Transport, Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre and the SSE Hydro. This recently refurbished family run establishment has warm welcome awaiting you- with a very Scottish feeling. Each of our guest rooms celebrate local Scottish Clans, each decorated differentl & tastefully with family tartans. Free high speed Wifi, large flat screen TV's in all rooms and a full Scottish breakfast as standard, need we say more? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Argyll Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Western Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing