We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate, comfortable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argyll Western Hotel
Ranked #3 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Immaculate, well-presented room with everything necessary for a comfortable stay. Friendly staff made it feel like a home from home. Breakfast is good value and will certainly set you up for the day, served in a pleasant room. This hotel is in a great location for Glasgow University, with the Hunterian Art Gallery and Museum about 5 minutes walk away. The Botanical Gardens are even closer, and Hillhead Subway station is also nearby.

Room Tip: My room was at the back and was blissfully quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Anon_Bristol_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazim A, General Manager at Argyll Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay! Also, thank you for the kind words regarding the breakfast. We are continually trying to improve the variety and quality of food items that we offer. Thank you for staying at the Argyll Western Hotel Glasgow and we hope that you will consider us for your next business trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

The place is great, staff is awesome, food was very good, the room was very nice and comfortable beds, but the parking is TERRIBLE. I will say they give you a parking voucher so you can park out front, but that is only if you can actually get a spot. If not, your parking on a side street somewhere behind the place. I got lucky and got a spot out front.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We had flown in a few weeks earlier and immediately left the airport and headed to the North coast. We stayed in a small town and spent time on the many trails in the area. Coming back to Glasgow was overwhelming from a driving, traffic, navigating standpoint. We arrived at the hotel a bit stressed. We received an incredibly warm greeting from Azam who quickly took care of our check in, parking worries, and got us settled in a well-appointed room with a window looking right out at the trees so we could refresh and head to the Botanical Garden pathways. We regret only staying at the hotel for one night. Azam highlighted so many wonderful places to visit in Glasgow and remembering our love for the outdoors would suggest trails and pathways so driving would not be necessary. We have already recommended the hotel to friends visiting next year and hope we will be able to come back for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katharine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

The room is clean and comfortable. Wifi connection id good. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is nice with good choices. Excellent location near the University of Glasgow. Taking subway to the city centre is also easy and fast. Very reasonable price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Teoh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel was cute with adorable plaid textiles in the room, tall ceilings and good sized bathroom. Comfortable bed and nice breakfast provided. Easy walking to surrounding area including beautiful botanical gardens and university area.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 93 in Glasgow
849 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#20 of 93 in Glasgow
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
335 reviews
Alamo Guest House
#1 of 35 in Glasgow
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Western Hotel

Address: 6 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 8EB, Scotland (Formerly Lomond Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: ₹ 3,430 - ₹ 9,689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Argyll Western is a Grade A listed building located in Glasgow's iconic West End, close to the Botanic Gardens, University of Glasgow, and The Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum. Also nearby is The Museum of Transport, Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre and the SSE Hydro. This recently refurbished family run establishment has warm welcome awaiting you- with a very Scottish feeling. Each of our guest rooms celebrate local Scottish Clans, each decorated differentl & tastefully with family tartans. Free high speed Wifi, large flat screen TV's in all rooms and a full Scottish breakfast as standard, need we say more? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Argyll Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Western Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing