We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“curry capital”
Review of Mother India

Mother India
Ranked #108 of 2,427 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: West End
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“curry capital”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

well known. well liked always consistant. never ever had a bad meal popular with all age groups glasgow has the best indian food in the country [written by a glaswegian] no kidding

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marsopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,029 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    242
    106
    45
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Algarve, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“An Indian in Glasgow”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Highly recommended, did not disappoint. We park the car almost outside the entrance door. The room downstairs is more elegant and quiet; we went upstairs, much noisier, with more decorative furniture (modernist? mixed?). The food comes in huge doses, but is very good. My daughter was delighted with her Naan, the lamb leg for two people was excellent and would suit for 3 or more, the rice was very good, so was the seafood dish that my husband eat (whose name I cannot remember). If you like Indian food I recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEAFaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosebank, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Good food and service, have been here on many occasions. A bit lacking in atmosphere but certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marjay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good menu and food”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Food was spot on, great dishes on the menu, more inventive than other Indian restuarants and was great for me as I was on a diet at the time and they had a brilliant selection of low calorie and low fat, breads, rices and currys, I went for a Bhoona and it was delicious.

The service was fantastic and the restaurant was completely full on a Wednesday night so booking is a must.

The atmosphere was great and I will definately be returning.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shmee682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Still the best Indian in Glasgow”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Recently took a couple of my Czech Business associates to Mother India. When we arrived,they informed me they had not visited an Indian Restuarant before and did not really like spicy Food ! No pressure then.
I ordered the starters and assisted them woth their main meal choices. Delighted to say that they thoroughly enjoyed their meal. The Lamb with ladyfingers(Okra) was very tender and really more like "Roast Lamb". Chicken Tikka perfectly cooked and also very tender - not dry like so many of the other tikka's that you get from the run of the mill Indian's.
I have been a fan of this restaurant for 12 years, during this time I have not had one bad meal.
The carryout location at "Dining In" is also very good and as I am not located in the city at the moment, I frequently drop in for the currys that they have in their deli section.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AGR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mother India also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Mother India? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing