We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Spires Serviced Apartments
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We arrived from Heathrow Airport very tired after a long flight from Australia. When we got to the apartments to check in, unfortunately our room wasn’t ready due to previous guests checking out late. The staff were very apologetic and we took it in our stride and took ourselves to a nearby cafe to fill in time. When we returned, the staff had arranged to upgrade us for the inconvenience caused which we thought was a lovely gesture considering we had to fill in a couple of hours feeling very feral indeed.

We stayed in the penthouse suite which consisted of three bedrooms all with ensuite, separate full bathroom, loungeroom, kitchen laundry facilities.

One bedroom had a king sized bed in a large room and the other two had queen sized beds. Quality towels and linen were provided. The beds were very comfortable.

The location was perfect! We couldn’t have done better. The small grocery store was close by and of course the great shops in downtown Glasgow. What a great city it’s become! Cool little restaurants and bars dotted around the city and public transport easily accessed at the front door.

Loved the balcony at the apartment for getting a view of the street.

Fairly quiet at night except one night there was a party in the building behind us but that didn’t ruin our stay.

A couple of small issues were that one shower rose kept coming off, and the large sliding doors going to the balcony were difficult to close and wouldn’t close enough to lock. The washing machine was unbelievably complicated to operate and there was no manual to refer to as the symbols were not logical. No manual could be found on the internet and it appears from the forums that many people had the same problem. We took a guess and got a three hour cycle to work. The apartment is a little tired and could do with more regular maintenance checks.

The staff were very nice and friendly. We couldn’t have faltered their willingness to help. We didn’t complain to them about the maintenance issues encountered considering that we were compensated with the best apartment in the building and we could work around them anyway. My son fixed the toilet ( being a plumbers son) and so these small things were not that big a deal.

We would definitely stay there again should we be back there to visit our family. Loved it!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Talesofyesterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, General Manager at The Spires Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Guest,

We would first of all like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Spires in Glasgow during your recent visit to city, as well as for taking the time to write such a detailed and complimentary review - this is much appreciated and most especially your feedback with points to improve on.

Your feedback has been shared with the team and our Maintenance Supervisor is addressing the small items you have pointed out.
I am also very pleased to let you know that we are starting a full "apartment refresh" programme at the end of this month and all apartments - in turn - will be repainted and all major issues resolved.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Kind regards,
Kirsten Jensen
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

We had a great welcome by the young man on the service desk but that was it. The lift was dirty although cleaned 30mins later. We had a lounge and kitchen area that absolutely stunk of stale smoke so we left the window open during our stay we could watch television because the remote was missing.
THE BED- OMG the mattress was awful with springs sticking up everywhere and a very small bed. We complained in the morning and the young man apologised and said they were aware of the problems yet still took all the money!
The double glazing was very poor and we heard every noise.
A bad start to our week visiting the Scottish isles

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, General Manager at The Spires Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Andrea,

I would first of all like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Spires in Glasgow during your recent visit to the city, as well as for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

I regret to read about the inconveniences that you have experienced - please accept my sincere apologies.

The Spires in Glasgow will be undergoing a full refresh programme starting in 2 weeks time - each apartment will be fully painted and cleaned (one at a time), as well as mattresses replaced where necessary.

Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me on info@thespires.co.uk.

Once again, I apologise for the inconveniences that you have experienced - I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holidays in the beautiful Scottish isles.

Best regards,
Kirsten Jensen
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for one night and were both pleasantly surprised. We looked around for hotel rooms ranging anywhere between £100-300 p/n. We paid £118 and we were both delighted with our accommodation. Decor was great, clean, all the amenities that we needed and in a great central location. We were allowed to check in an hour early and the staff were very friendly. I would certainly recommend The Spires and a friend of mine who I was speaking with has already recommended it to a friend also. We Will definitely be back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RossGibson94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, General Manager at The Spires Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Ross,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Spires during your recent visit to Glasgow, as well as for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to The Spires in any of our 4 locations (Aberdeen, Birmingham, Edinburgh and Glasgow) in the near future.

Best regards,
Kirsten Jensen
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Stayed one night recently with another couple in the two bedroom suite. The suite was a great size for 4 adults. The ensuite in one of the rooms is perfect as it meant each couple had their own space. We had plenty of room for some snacks and drinks in the kitchen before we went out to a club in Glasgow which was a short walk away. The location of the hotel is great - very central and easy to get to off the M8. Parking is near by and reasonably priced with the discount offered from The Spires.

The dishwasher in the room did not work and several of the dishes/glasses needed to be washed before use but this was just a minor inconvenience. Overall we were happy with the stay, would definitely stay again and have already recommend this and other locations to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tess_Si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, General Manager at The Spires Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Tess,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Spires during your recent trip to Glasgow, as well as for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you found The Spires well located in the city, as well as the apartments well appointed.
Thank you for your feedback with regards the dishwasher and the glasses - this has been addressed with the team on site.

We do look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to The Spires in any of our locations in the near future.

Best regards,
Kirsten Jensen
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

The corridors, lifts and entire apartment smelled of stale cigarette smoke. They were incredibly inflexible and rude when we asked for a slightly earlier check in. The beds were not comfortable and the advertisement on hotels.com was not clear that one of the beds was a fold out bed. Very close to a main road where major construction was happening and due to thin windows, this resulted in a poor nights sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lurogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, General Manager at The Spires Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear "lurogers",

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Spires during your recent visit to Glasgow, as well as for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

I regret to read that your stay did not meet your expectations, as well as some of our usual standards lacking.

Check-in time is 2 p.m. Unfortunately the past weeks have resulted in higher occupancy and with guests only leaving their apartments at 10 a.m., we do require the time to clean the apartments properly for the new arrivals. If occupancy does allow, we endeavour to honour earlier check-in if possible. Should you wish to have a guaranteed early check-in, we always advise to book the apartment from the night before.

Your feedback with regards the beds is greatly appreciated - a plan is currently in place to refresh all apartments as from the end of November when our occupancy allows, as well as replace the mattresses.

I once again thank you for your feedback and apologise for the inconveniences that you experienced.

Best regards,
Kirsten Jensen
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#22 of 93 in Glasgow
1,128 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,262 reviews
City Centre
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,417 reviews
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#42 of 93 in Glasgow
1,672 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spires Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spires Serviced Apartments

Address: 77 Glassford Street, Glasgow G1 1BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Merchant City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range: ₹ 6,970 - ₹ 21,995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spires Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasgow…a city with energy and sophistication and The Spires is right in the centre of where it’s all happening. Unwind at the end of a busy day in a delightful environment that’s been specially designed to offer you flexible personal space, in an atmosphere of comfort and freedom. Yet so convenient to all Glasgow city centre attractions, restaurants and nightlife, shops and to main Glasgow railway stations. Enjoy much more than a hotel bedroom. Spacious, stylishly designed, our uniquely crafted serviced apartments in Glasgow provide a real ‘home from home’ living feel, seamlessly blending upscale tranquillity with affordable luxury. We call them ‘suite sensations’. The perfect alternative to Glasgow city centre hotels for business and leisure travellers, whether for short or longer trips, just great for families too. Not ‘budget accommodation’ in Glasgow, but quality 4 star value for the discerning traveller at prices comparable with many budget hotels and which will beat most 3,4 and certainly 5 star hotels. Quality, space and comfort you’ll love, at prices you’ll love too. Stay for a night, or several …there’s no minimum stay. With daily maid service and continental breakfast available on request you may want to stay forever. Whether travelling on business or leisure, The Spires in Glasgow is the ideal choice – which of our suite styles is perfect for you? Call us and we’ll help you decide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Spires Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spires Serviced Hotel Glasgow
The Spires Serviced Apartments Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing