We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, comfortable, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Teesside, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well located, comfortable, friendly staff”
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

Writing the review whilst laid in bed on my fourth night here. I've stayed here a few times on business, and can't comment on value for money as I am unsure what rate my employers get.

If you are looking for a centrally located Glasgow hotel, with clean rooms and friendly staff you can't go wrong here. Self service breakfast easy, with good choice of hot/cold options.

TVs have been upgraded to flat screens since I was last here, and good selection of free channels including sky sports.

The only reason I am writing this review is to offer some constructive criticism that has been niggling me all week...there is only one single plug socket in the whole room. I can only charge my phone, iPad or MiFi dongle one at a time, so inevitably one of them has gone flat every day so far this week! If you are a business traveller that relies on their gadgets, it may be worth packing a multi-plug in your laptop bag :-)

This doesnt detract from what has been, as usual, a very comfortable stay.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank davidthomas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of our Hotel.

I have passed your comments onto the team as it is always great for them to know that they are appreciated.

Regarding the socket points in the rooms, if you need any of your devices charged, please do not hesitate to contact a member of the team and we will be happy to charge them for you at reception so as not to cause you any inconvenience.

We look forward to taking care of all your needs on future visits to Glasgow.

Kind Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    488
    178
    36
    18
See reviews for
200
362
87
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel and were very happy. The bes was super comfy, the check in staff friendly, thorough and prompt. We enjoyed a healthy wholesome hot breakfast in the morning. Got a very reasonable rate on this room too!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustangsally010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
I was delighted to read your lovely comments regarding your visit here to the Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Theatreland.

I am so glad you enjoyed our free breakfast which is always great to get you off to the best start in the mornings!

Also our team here are genuinely focus on our guests to make sure they have the best experiences possible during their visit, so its great to hear that they ticked the boxes for you.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to seeing you soon on your next visit to Glasgow.

Warm Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KINTYRE
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Good City Centre location, comfortable bed and a good shower. Couldn't really ask for anything more for a short one night stay whilst attending a concert.

Stains on the bedcover and the carpet were the only downside although I do prefer a hotel that has SKY Sports channels on the room televisions, as a mad football fan.

Simple Express By H.I. breakfast and parking is across the road in a multi-storey which I did not need. Will stay here again if I need a one or two night stay in the City Centre.

Room Tip: A rrom to the back of the hotel should avoid the worst of the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HANNANITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Theatreland.

I was delighted to read that you couldn't ask for anything more!

With regards to your comments about stains on the bed. This is very unusual for this hotel as our standards are extremely high. Did you contact reception or housekeeping to make them aware of this issue?
There would have been no problem in changing this for you.

We look forward to your next trip to Glasgow and once again providing you with everything you need.

Warm Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

A recent stay proved to be a truly fabulous experience. This hotel's location is excellent for easy walk to the heart of the city and close to good restaurants. Just around the corner from the shopping mall and The key shopping streets makes for a very efficient weekend break. Our breakfast was superb - tasty haggis, fresh fruit and a fine array of cooked items. The rooms were clean and happy - which really was important for our stay. The staff were great - excellent service on reception and swift hotel booking via the telephone. This hotel sets such a good standard - so we've booked in again for another couple of nights. Very impressed by a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask hotel if there are any special offers For quiet room maybe ask for rooms not on main street sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a response. It was a delight to read and I have passed your comments onto the team.

Myself and the team look forward to your next visit to Glasgow.

Warm Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

Just back from a girlie weekend, hotel really close to all shopping areas and very close to nightlife. Staff were really helpful especially Adam. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family. Also Glasgow is a great city for nightlife, all six of us had a great weekend. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hun17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
It was a delight to read your recent rerview on the hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed our brilliant location and that the team were really helpful. It is always fantastic for team members to be mentioned by name and I will pass your comments onto Adam.

We hope to see you back in Glasgow very soon!

Warm Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,418 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Address: 165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,550 - ₹ 14,178
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the city within the Theatreland district. Glasgow boasts a wide variety of shops, from high street stores to the fabulous Buchanan Galleries, the exclusive Princes Square and Italian Centre, and they are all within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has 118 well appointed rooms and all rates are inclusive of continental breakfast and FREE Wifi access. The hotel has a bar which is open from 12:00 until late and a vending area where guests can purchase a wide selection of drinks and hot and cold snacks. The hotel is a perfect starting point for visiting the Highlands, Trossachs and other major towns and cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing