We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Sail to Arran

Although weather was terrible, very windy and wet - we had a great time. Commentary while we sailed... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
NorthStar820633
Waverley Paddle Steamer Trip on Saurday 6th October 2018

What should have been a very enjoyable day trip from Southend to Tower Bridge was anything but... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
freddie980
,
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Read all 796 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Glasgow
from US$ 16.00
More Info
from US$ 16.00
More Info
Reviews (796)
Filter reviews
796 results
Traveller rating
364
172
86
55
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
172
86
55
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviews engine room paddle steamer steamers tower bridge bristol channel dining saloon firth of clyde ailsa craig beautiful vessel set sail return journey portsmouth harbour day cruise sea conditions loch fyne steam ship isle of arran
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 796 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

The UK has all sorts of weather so quite often your trip will be cancelled as was ours (4 tickets). BUT these people will NOT return your money. Also they will be extremely rude to you when they deal with these 'requests' for your own money. Legal small print allows them to act like theives. DON'T SUPPORT THEM.

17  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

I have now booked twice on the Waverley, the first was a trip around the Essex coast and was very nice with good views and enjoyable experience, however take note you are going back in a time warp, the vessel has a smell of diesel but for engineer minded person this is part and parcel of the trip to see the working engine in all its glory.However the booking system and admin is farcial, having prebooked, the sailing was cancelled on the day from Clacton due to high winds, fair enough, but you only found out on arrival at the Pier and transferred to Southend 40 mile drive away, as i had disabled friend and no transport other than taxi to get to the Pier we asked for money back and to cancel, however told to apply on web where booked, this transpired that no refund policy in force and could only take credit note for next sailing, this we did and following month turned up again and sailing cancelled again with credit note for following year which i am sure is illegal, so still have been unable to take second trip.
Advice for all, the sailing trip is very good, BUT whatever you do do not pre pay and book in advance, just turn up on the day thenty minutes early and pay on that day, ignoring all adverts to pre book as there is always room.

3  Thank nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

Really upset with these people. Bought £80 vouchers for my elderly parents Christmas presents last year. The used the vouchers to buy tickets but the sailings were cancelled. They were rebooked on a later, somewhat shorter, sailing but that was cancelled too. They didn't notify them that they were cancelled, they found out when they arrived to board and the gates were locked. Nobody there to explain, no apologies, no nothing.

We asked for a refund so that my parents might enjoy an alternative (rather belated!) Christmas present with it. Waverley refused, telling us to refer to their 'terms and conditions'. The Terms do say they don't refund unused vouchers, but that's totally unacceptable when they can't be used due to their operational problems. We wrote several emails, those that were replied to were never signed (how rude is that!) and those that were were simply dismissive. Eventually I wrote to Kathleen O'Neill, the CEO thinking that she might actually care enough to sort it out. Not a chance, well over a month later and not even the courtesy of a reply.

I have just wasted 20 minutes on the phone to them again. How they love to hide behind their T&Cs....

If you buy vouchers beware that Waverley often has to cancel due to all manner of reasons (weather and collision damage this year) so there's a pretty high risk you won't be able to use them, and if that's the case you will not get your money back. You have been warned.

22  Thank GAW98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Not my first trip, and hopefully won't be my last. Love going on the Waverley. Been on perfect sunny days, been on rough seas. Makes you feel good. Find the staff nice and friendly, and of there's a problem, as there was this year as it sailed from Portree, then the Captain keeps you informed. The coffee is nice, but would suggest packing a nice special picnic and taking that with you.

Thank PaulaScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

In 2016 my husband and I booked a trip on the Waverley but unfortunately on the day I was very ill and unable to travel. We were pleased to be given a credit voucher for use in 2017. We subsequently booked our trip for September this year but poor weather meant the trip was cancelled. Normally cancellations by the Waverley result in a credit in the manner you paid but in our case, because we used a credit voucher, we will only get a credit voucher for next year. If next years trip is cancelled we will get a voucher for 2019 and so it could go on. PLEASE BE AWARE OF THIS WHEN BOOKING. a charity which is not acting in a charitable way itself.

10  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thanks for your review via TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you were unable to travel on your pre-booked excursion in 2016, however we note that you were pleased to receive a Credit note to the value of your unused tickets to use towards a future sailing in 2017.
As you have highlighted in your review and as per our correspondence to you, refunds for sailings that do not take place are issued in the same manner paid and in your particular instance you paid for your 2017 booking with a Credit Note.
We do look forward to welcoming aboard Waverley in 2018.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews