We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kelvin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kelvin Hotel
Ranked #71 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Marburg, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

In November, my wife and I traveled by car to Glasgow. Kelvin Hotel is very easy to find. It is located in the vibrant West area. We made our choice for Kelvin Hotel as they accept dogs, which is not self-evident in Great Britain. The hotel is in a nice Victorian house with very nice, tidy decoration, lamps, furnitures, carpets etc. The welcome was fairly warm, not too warm-hearted, check-in was fast, professional and efficient. First, they gave us a large room in the basement, which was creepy with a view to the dark scarp of the car park, but we insisted in a change to a room in the 2nd floor, which was immediately fulfilled. Parking is quite difficult as the Hotel parking is very small, so you have to park in the streets nearby (parking tickets by police included, but you can pre-buy some in the hotel). The room was warm and small, but very clean and sufficiently equiped. The room was to the main street, hence somewhat noisy from the street, but we liked the vivid atmosphere rather than the backwards view. You can't hear anything from neighbouring rooms. Breakfast in a beautiful big room with high ceiling was typical English with toast, butter and jam, good coffee, and eggs, sausages on demand - all inclusive and great service. All in all, Kelvin is a recommendable choice.

Room Tip: No basement. If you like it quiet, ask for a room to the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    109
    42
    25
    13
See reviews for
47
86
41
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

this is my second time staying here with a group, clean, friendly, good for a large group, yummy breakfast and friendly staff. it's more of a guest house then a hotel, but sometimes a guest house is a much nicer way to spend a trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

My wife and I went for a short break in October half term week.
Initial impression is stong and the owner helped us park our car in the small car park at the rear of the hotel. The building is architecturally impressive and the public rooms high ceilinged and airy.
Our room in the basement was ok - it was clean, functional and everything worked well but it was slightly opressive. Small disappointments included the brilliantly sodium lit facade of the building meant there was more light in the room at night than we are used to and the sound of an internal drain waking me at 6.30am.
Breakfast was good if a bit chaotic on one morning.
The position of the hotel is superb being close to Byers Road and the Botanical Gardens and museums.
Overall it was very good value and I would stay again but maybe it is a little overrated in some reviews?
The Clutton Two

Room Tip: Basement rooms may not be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCluttonTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, Devon, UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

My partner and I are both Glaswegians who now live in glorious Devon. We stayed at the Kelvin for one evening before going our separate ways to see family etc. We could not have been happier with our selection of hotel. The staff were friendly and professional. The welcome and our room were both warm. The entire place is spotlessly clean and breakfast excellent. In short – this is a real find and offers amazing value. Having worked in one of the west end’s B&Bs as a student many years ago, I know that it takes a huge amount of work and dedication and love to run somewhere as well as this. Well done. We’ll be back 

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redsandyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

'Cannot recommend all at the Kelvin enough. I was in Glasgow with my son, girlfriend and family dog last w/e for my mother's 90th [!] and our stay with them was an absolute pleasure. Comfortable, spotless, good food and nothing too much trouble to help us in any way Sandra could. Not having transport and evening train back to Cumbria, it was no problem to leave our luggage in safe keeping til later in the day - not to mention Sandra helping to rescue my son's trouser hem with a steam iron! All has been so much appreciated and we're definitely spreading the word! Big thank you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#74 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#69 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Property: Kelvin Hotel
Address: 15 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 8EB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,306 - ₹ 8,622
Hotel Class:2 star — Kelvin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvin is a bed and breakfast in the heart of the vibrant West End of Glasgow. Parking can be reserved and free Wi-Fi is available. Bedrooms at The Kelvin are light and airy and are tastefully decorated in soft pastels. Some guest bedrooms have en-suite facilities, and all have a TV and vanity units with shaving points. A fully fitted, communal kitchen, equipped with kitchenware and utensils, is available to guests.The grand Victorian townhouse also offers free Wi-Fi in the guest lounge and in most bedrooms. The dining room boasts floor-to-ceiling windows and looks out onto the tree-lined Great Western Road. There are many shops located opposite the hotel and many bars and restaurants in the area.Glasgow International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the Kelvin, and the hotel is located just 2 miles from Glasgow Central Railway Station & 10miles from Glasgow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, HostelWorld, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing