We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pipers' Tryst Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Piper's Tryst Hotel in Glasgow June 2012. I had a big, nice clean room (en suite) overlooking the road. Although it was a lttle noisy, I simply opened the windows during the day when I was out, and closed them at night. That worked just fine. Good cooked breakfasts in the intimate eating room. I also had one supper there as well which was quite tasty. I found the staff very helpful and adaptable. My room was ready early, as I had requested, in order to rest from jet lag. Breakfast trays (fruit, juice, cereal) can be brought up the night before if you are travelling before breakfast time. This little, intimate hotel is about 5 -10 walk to the bus and train station and to downtown. Nice spot. Good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regiena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    123
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
57
166
49
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

This is a unique place to stay. We only spent one night in Glasgow and found this place as we were late making reservations. I would recommend to anyone as it was clean, with very large rooms and baths. Price was a surprise for the quality and unique property.

Room Tip: There is a car park right next door. Your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeygs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Located in the heart of Glasgow - right next to theatre royal.

Amazing small hotel which is very basic but clean, if you are looking for a decent hotel at an affordable rate, then this is the place for you.

Ate in the restaurant which was very good, plenty of choice, and great service.

Hope to be back soon

Room Tip: ask for a room at front of hotel to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marymcculloch21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I'll admit bias since I'm a piper and this was like staying at Bagpipe Ground Zero, but my wife - who's not a piper - loved it, too. The small size of the hotel and restaurant make it very cozy and intimate, and the Piping Centre practice and teaching rooms next door are indispensable for traveling pipers. The rooms are small but comfortable, the food at the restaurant is as good as any we had in Glasgow, and the service is excellent. It's in a great location for walking around the city or getting the underground or buses anywhere, and the neighborhood is quiet, being at the upper end of Hope Street. We stayed four nights and can't wait to go back. Book early because they do fill up.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwi
Level Contributor
152 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

I have stayed in the Pipers' Tryst many times. It is right in the heart of Glasgow and the rooms might be elderly but they are clean and comfortable. The restaurant serves great food and the gals are happy smiley all the time. It has to be the best deal in town especially if you want to visit the Piping Centre or go to the theatre.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are perhaps a little quieter, if that is possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank airbus0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,797 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pipers' Tryst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pipers' Tryst Hotel

Property: The Pipers' Tryst Hotel
Address: At The National Piping Centre | 30 - 34 McPhater Street, Glasgow G4 0HW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#10 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#12 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,601 - ₹ 8,693
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pipers' Tryst Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The National Piping Centre is home of The Pipers' Tryst which houses 8 cosy bedrooms, and is classed by the Scottish tourist board as a 4 star 'Restaurant with Rooms'. All 8 bedrooms are equipped with en-suite bathrooms, colour TV with radio channels, hairdryer, trouser press, and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast is served within The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant. A continental buffet breakfast is provided in all our rates. Cooked breakfasts are also available at an extra charge, The Pipe Major's breakfast will be sure to see you through the day. The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant is also available for lunch or dinner throughout the week. Having achieved eat quality Scotland standard and received very complimentary reviews in local press our tables are often in high demand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pipers Tryst Glasgow
Pipers Tryst Hotel Glasgow
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing