We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
99
137
75
31
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
137
75
31
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great western road west end byres road cooked breakfast no lift city centre botanic gardens single room hour reception breakfast was included breakfast room clean rooms top floor priced hotel sized room budget hotel fresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Clean but very dated. The 3 parking spaces had gone before we arrived but we were advised that we could park on the one side of the street which did not need a resident permit. I don't think the hotel should come up on a search for 'Glasgow Hotel with parking'. The location was the best thing about the hotel. The cooked breakfast left a lot to be desired - the baked beans were not of good quality and the bacon was turkey. The fruit was largely tinned but there was fresh melon. The shower was powerful but contained inside a small cubicle of the 'step up' variety. The mattress was not good - there was a tendency to roll towards the middle. The room was cold.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 483Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Stayed here for the location, which cannot be beaten.
The room (7) was a good size, but it was tired in need of a spruce.
Breakfast was fine, had better but no complaints.
Car park for about 6 cars at the rear.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lippers73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

This hotel is in a great location near the University of Glasgow, pubs and restaurants.
The staff was very nice, the rooms very clean and the full traditional Scottish breakfast very filling. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: No elevators so plan for stairs.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank actvid2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We stayed here because of its proximity to the University - it is very well located for the West End and is between two subway stops so easy to get to using public transport. It is actually on a small terrace above the main road, so there is a fairly steep side-road to reach it, and as the internal staircase is also pretty steep it may not be suitable for those with mobility problems.
Reception was friendly and helpful, and even offered to carry my bag to the room.
The room was a good size, with a high ceiling and lovely big windows. Free wifi was useful, though we had to ask for the code. The ensuite was very clean and had a surprisingly high-tech shower - water pressure was good.
Very quiet at night, with no street or internal noise and the beds were comfortable.
Breakfast was plentiful and service was attentive. We were able to leave our bag behind reception and collect it later before going for the train.
I usually stay at one of the budget chains, but I would stay here again - very good value.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are very quiet
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mumandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

i have been to Glasgow many times ,but never stayed in the west end before , i was attending a wedding close by .I arrived friday afternoon , and was greeted by iain , who was very pleasant , and even carried our bags for us , the room was clean , nice ensuite , breakfast was served in the morning , nice cooked breakfast , , to send us on our way home , would i stay again , oh yessssssssssssssssss

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yaeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews