We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,592)
Filter reviews
2,592 results
Traveller rating
1,606
757
171
36
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,606
757
171
36
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary mini bar the marco pierre white restaurant aveda toiletries rainfall shower crisps waterloo street central station lovely hotel city centre q park cooked breakfast lovely decor walk in shower superior room reception staff car park full scottish breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 2,592 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2018

I regularly stay at the Hotel Indigo in London as it is a gorgeous hotel with wonderful staff. Sadly, while I liked the Glasgow hotel with respect to its room and bar area, my colleague and I had a terrible experience with one member of staff which totally ruined our stay.

We went down to breakfast one morning and were looking at the menu trying to decide what to have when a member of staff (large bald guy in a suit) came rushing over and shouted at us in a very aggressive manner demanding to know what we were up to. My colleague and I were completely taken aback by his aggressiveness, and couldn't work out why he treated us like that. It was so off putting we decided to leave the hotel and go have breakfast elsewhere. For the remainder of our stay my colleague and I talked about this experience and we couldn't get over this staff member's attitude towards paying customers. When I returned to the hotel later than day I could see him beside the bar sneering at me. I genuinely do not have a clue why he took such a dislike to us, we had never even spoken to him before in our lives and hadn't caused any trouble at all. Maybe he was having a bad day, maybe he mistook us for somebody else, but he shouldn't take it out on customers minding their own business.

Considering while there are plenty of lovely hotels in Glasgow (and London) that actually treat their customers with respect, this will be the last time I'll stay at the Hotel Indigo chain. The big guy needs some anger management and customer care training.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Quemaduras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan J, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

I was absolutely appalled to read your review, please accept my sincere apologies that one of my team treated you so badly. I can assure you that this is not the norm here at Hotel Indigo Glasgow and I do hope that you will give us a second chance to impress. If you woish to stay again please contact me on gm@hinglasgow.com and I will be happy to help.

Regards

Duncan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

I stayed in Hotel Indigo in Glasgow for one night for business earlier this month.

There is a multi story car park next door which you get discounted parking in so there is no trouble finding a parking space, which is not always the case in Glasgow.

Check in was swift and conducted by a very pleasant young lady called Maybel with no issues whatsoever even though I was very early. The room could possibly be called snug but in a city centre location why would you want to sit in your room all day/night?

The only negative was at breakfast the next morning I ordered the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs on brown toast and received scrambled egg only on white toast. Not in the slightest what I asked for but it was early and I wanted to get on the road, rather than order and wait again.

Aside from the slight hiccup above I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to enjoy a nice space in Glasgow.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan J, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Hi Paul,

Apologies for the mixup with the breakfast order, I hope this didn't detract too much from your stay.

Regards

Duncan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Lots of good things: friendly check-in, clean and bright décor, included soft drinks and Tunnocks caramel wafers in-room, proper cafetiere coffee, 24hr gym with decent gear, Aveda toiletries.

There was quite a lot of transmitted noise from corridors and other rooms due to the corridor and in-room hallway having non carpeted flooring - I tried to get an early night and was woken by this a couple of times (I suspect this would be more of an issue at weekends if people come back late). Breakfast buffet selection was a bit limited but the cook order menu did make up for it.

Good location, decent value, good for a short break or on business.

Room tip: High floor, rear of building to reduce noise
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidbummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan J, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018
Google Translation

Thanks Heidbummer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the years - this was my 5th or 6th stay. And what a disaster it was. So disappointed as I’ve always enjoyed staying here.

Being a repeat guest, I’m on the hotel’s mailing list and purchased a Black Friday deal in November for dinner, bed and breakfast. On arrival, the front desk asked for the voucher to be emailed, which I did. After a few minutes they hadn’t received it but I was told I’d need ru wait until it was received. Why, I do not know. I showed the girl the email, with code, in my sent items. This went on for 10 minutes.

Finally was allowed to my room. Can’t fault this and coupled with the location, is always my reason for booking here. Spacious room, tastefully decorated. As ever.

I’d booked dinner for 7:30pm in the restaurant. I met my friend for a drink in the bar beforehand. First of all ordered Hendricks gin. I was informed that they had run out, and didn’t have any more in stock. So I ordered a mojito cocktail. I was then informed that they didn’t have any mint leaves. This went on and on until I just got a glass of wine. We were seated at our table for dinner, given the menu, which we were then informed we couldn’t order from - the voucher deal was a specific menu. Well my goodness! What a limited, uninspiring menu it was (printed on a piece of paper like an afterthought). I was quite embarrassed to have invited my friend to this! We both ordered the lamb cutlets and brownie dessert. Lamb was fatty and over cooked. We were told they’d run out of brownies. And the replacement dessert was hard and not appetising. Although interestingly with a mint garnish.. so they did have mint leaves after all?! Hugely disappointed. No one asked if we wanted more drinks during dinner.

Breakfast the following morning was laughable.. full Scottish was one grey sausage, one slice of undercooked bacon, one greasy potato scone and disgusting scrambled eggs. No toast. When I asked for it specifically, it arrived as two stale ends of a loaf and no butter. Asked for ketchup was brought HP. Completely ridiculous service and quality!

Really disappointed by what was always a favourite place to stay. As in IHG member I’d have expected far superior service and quality from what I know used to be a great hotel, bar and restaurant. Rooms are lovely, but eat and drink elsewhere these days.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank brechtian_doll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Hi brechtian_doll!

Thanks for choosing us again and sharing your thoughts! We're always proud of our room aesthetics, and I'm glad to read your mutual appreciation. I'm very sorry though that we weren't able to impress you this time. Please know that the mishaps on your check in and service from our onsite restaurant are not standard and inexcusable. I reviewed your comments with our Food and Beverage Supervisor and Front Office Manager so we can provide the appropriate follow up and training with our staff.

Once again, thanks for the feedback and being an IHG Rewards Club member! I hope we can have you again so we can provide you with a more refined hotel experience in your next visit in the area.

Safe travels,

Gian M
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for 1 night having previously stayed at the Newcastle one a few times. Can't compare Glasgow to Newcastle to be honest. The hotel and rooms are lovely. On check in you are charged an extra £50 to cover anything you spend on top of your package. This should be your own choice if you want to do this or not. Dinner was lovely, food great and well looked after by the team although at check in I was told I had been booked in at 19.15, when I asked to have a latwr table I was told it was fully booked. Around 8.30 there was at least half the tables free. Breakfast was however really not nice at all. We opted for the so called full scottish breakfast. That consisted of 1 sausage, 2 under cooked cheap looking slices of bacon, black pudding, potato scone and an egg. No beans, no bread to make toast, glasses hard to come by also. Staff unorganized. Was given no sugar for out tea. Would return to the Newcastle one but not glasgow. Just little things let the place down that other hotels seem to deliver on. Not exactly cheap either so you want everything to be perfect.

Few of my points iv noticed are said repeatedly In other reviews.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Theacemod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan J, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hi Theacemod,

I am sorry for the issues experienced at breakfast, I'm not sure what has gone wrong on this occasion but will look into it and make all necessary changes.
We do ask for a credit card to preauthorise on arrival, unfortunately with a debit card we are unable to do this and have to charge an amount to allow credit on your room.

Regards

Duncan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews