We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 May 2015

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,591)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Glasgow Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

543 - 547 of 1,592 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed the first night of a tour and had a terrible dinner at the hotel restaurant. Not sure if it was because we were a group deal or not but we had the choice of 3 entrée, 3 main, 3 dessert which we thought was ok. Unfortunately though, the options were second rate. The pork was tough, ravioli inedible and the lettuce that came with the entree was wilted and tired-looking. A disappointing first meal in Scotland.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2015

Thank you for taking time commenting your dining experience during your stay at our property.
I have been very distressed reading your review as usually the dining experience is being praised for our hotel. Nonetheless, could I please ask you to get in contact with us and giving us the date you have been dining with us, to allow us to investigate what could have gone wrong (h3136@accor.com or 0141 222 2775) on this particular occasion and take any corrective measures if necessary.
I hope that we will be able to welcome you to our hotel for any of your stays here in Glasgow.
Kind regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015

When our kids were little and we drove down through France to Spain we had a joke that the Novotel room followed us along the road like a caravan. Always the same format, reliable and basic. Nowadays Novotel has gone a bit upmarket. The Glasgow City Centre Novotel follows the modern Novotel pattern - light wood fittings, pleasant soft furnishings - still the convertible bed settee next to the main bed (a comfy sitting space when staying in a room for one), and the still unusual configuration of separate loo and bathroom.

This is a well situated modern Novotel - in the still largely intact and rather lovely Georgian Blythswood Hill area of Glasgow. It is just 10 minutes walk from Glasgow Central (up hill) - no need for a cab. It is next to the (less than Georgian - more 1970s) HQ of the Police Scotland HQ - and a thoroughly modern Novotel building.

Positives predominate about this hotel. Well located, friendly staff, decent breakfast, spacious clean room, good linen, decent bed, elegant bathroom with lots of hot water (the funky moulded sinks in new Novotels always make me laugh, but are very good), eco friendly toiletries, good free WiFi (a paid upgrade is available but not needed for basic surfing and email access). Sufficient storage space for a business trip, iron and ironing board and tea and coffee making facilities. It is not luxurious, but is clean, comfortable, nicely designed and practical - just what I need when travelling on business.

Only downsides were a rickety chair at the desk (which I should have reported), plenty of power sockets at the desk but not by the bed, no HP sauce to go with the full Scottish breakfast (cheap brown sauce is not good enough - although the continental offering is great - lovely breads and meats), and the one thing that outraged me was paying £9.10 for a double vodka (cheap Red Square I think, not even Smirnoff) and diet coke in the bar when I returned from a long day of work.

Would definitely stay there again - great value for an overnight stay, quiet and comfortable and I got a great deal buying an advance deal. But be aware of the details.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Graysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

We would like to thank you for reviewing your experience following your stay at the Novotel Glasgow Centre.
I am really pleased to read, that you liked so many aspect and we will also look into your recommendations.
It has been our pleasure to look after you during this stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back very soon for any of your future stays in Glasgow.
My kindest regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015

From the moment we walked into the premises we were greeted by happy looking smart staff , this did not only apply to the receptionists but to the bar staff, waiting staff , and the cleaning staff.
The hotel was clean and well kept in all public areas as was our room.
We stayed in room 411 which was as well appointed as some other " high class" hotels which I have stayed in very recently.
The only complain that I would have would be that the plastic drinking glass's are very brittle and easily crack.. However these were very quickly replaced by the helpful cheerie member of cleaning / domestic staff.
The area around the hotel is much quieter now as the Police HQ and two other office buildings are now closed making on street parking easy , however this can be expensive , the hotel itself has underground parking at £8 per day and has 19 parking spaces.
If you do not want to frequent the Sauchiehall St area the West end and City Centre is a £5 taxi fare away or a 10/15 minute walk depending on the Scottish weather.
The hotel is also very handy for the " hydro" and SECC
Despite a coach party also being in the hotel during our stay there was no noise from the corridors or adjoining rooms and sleep quality was good as was the service and buffet style breakfast
All in all well worth considering staying in

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto Pitt Street ...floor number then rooms 1-11 ( 411-401 ) etc
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

I am very pleased to see that you choose the Novotel Glasgow Centre for your stay in Glasgow and of course for giving us this great five stars score.
I was very pleased to read your long comment and I will share it with the whole team.
It has been our pleasure to make sure you had a perfect stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for any of your future stays in Glasgow.
Kind regards,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015

This hotel is typical of many city centre hotels but we were impressed with the size and comfort of our room which was better than many we have stayed in recently. Large comfy bed and plenty of room to spread out and relax. It is in a great location close to all amenities yet quiet enough to enjoy a good night's sleep. Breakfast was average and certainly better on the second morning.It was very well priced so we will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dorvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNGC, General Manager at Novotel Glasgow Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback following your stay at the Novotel Glasgow Centre.
I am really pleased to read that you liked our very convenient location as well as our rooms with their comfortable new beds.
It has been our pleasure to look after you during this stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back very soon for any of your future stays in Glasgow.
My best wishes,
Christophe Pfeilstücker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
1,967 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,497 reviews
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Glasgow Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Glasgow Centre

Address: 181 Pitt Street, Glasgow G2 4DT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#39 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#41 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: ₹ 5,721 - ₹ 13,371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Glasgow Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 Star Novotel is a stylish hotel in the centre of Glasgow. Enjoy your break staying within walking distance of designer shopping and nightlife in the city centre. For business travellers there are six meeting rooms for up to 40 people and easy access to the M8 and train stations with the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre (SECC) just 5 minutes away. Enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, rooftop fitness suite with a gym, sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Glasgow Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Glasgow Centre Hotel Glasgow
Accor Glasgow Centre
Glasgow Novotel
Novotel Glasgow Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing