We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, needs some updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Ranked #43 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, needs some updating”
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed a Saturday night for our anniversary got a good rate for 1 nt B&B in standard king room upon arrival at hotel they Asked if we were there for anything special, mentioned our anniversary and they upgraded us to executive room straight away on 12th floor with use of executive lounge, which was lovely of them. Would have been good but not there long enough to make use of it really. Staff at reception very friendly & polite tho. Executive room not really any different to standard room, the air con in room was quite noisy, could do with servicing. Good facilities in room but no minibar in room, because of the executive lounge. It should still be available in room. The bed is huge and very comfortable, plenty of pillows as well. Hotel should not be charging hotel guests £8 for the overnight parking, ridiculous!!
Staff in bar are very friendly and as usual in hotel bars drinks are expensive.
All in all a good hotel but should not charge for parking, needs a little updating.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Loublou102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    782
    331
    96
    55
See reviews for
283
658
75
488
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is a tired hotel located right next to a busy motorway. The room was small, I had to request to move after one night due to a rattling aircon unit in dire need of a service/replacement keeping me awake all night. As the room windows do not open, aircon has to be on to prevent oxygen starvation! The aircon in my new room was only marginally better. The gym was well equipped but the changing rooms were dirty and in a state of disrepair. Breakfast was ok and included in the price which is good. Internet however is not and is £15 per day for mediocre speeds. I object to having to pay for intenet when it should and can be provided for free. It is essential for business travellers. The hotel is not up to Marriott standards so you will be disappointed but that is offset by the lower prices charged. Disappointing hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 90deedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Comfy, clean room with spacious bathroom. Room was quiet and bed was firm with quality linen.
Breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold food.
Hotel staff were polite , helpfull and friendly.
Good for city break, shopping , concerts or theatre.
Will return for another stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockfan1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is an older feeling hotel. The brick outside kinda threw me off. But when I entered the hotel loby, it was very nice.

Price. Quite reasonable for a Marriott hotel.

Rooms. Very clean, and comfortable beds.

Staff. The bell hops were fantastic. I was going to a football game there and the bell hop supported the team I was seeing and gave me the low down on everything. Made my first football game a great experience.

Food at the hotel. A little pricey, but the fish and chips were great.

Location. You are a five block walk from fantastic shopping, and major train station to get you to the next place.

Will stay again if I come back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrentP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Booked in to Marriott for one night on business. Rooms are comfortable but pillows not particualrly so. Disappointed with the charges for wi-fi and thought the snacks in the bar downstairs we expensve for what they were. No problem with the quality though, service was really good, staff were friendly and responsive.

The hotel is in a resonable position with easy access to the city. Plenty of taxis outside. I would use again for business but not otherwise.

Room Tip: All seem pretty good, no real views to speak of as in business district and adjacent to motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazelnutineverybite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#48 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Property: Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Address: 500 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,647 - ₹ 16,070
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing