We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hotel is unbelievable value for money - just excellent”
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 3 March 2012

we were over visiting our son at Glasgow university and stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is excellent considering we got a deal and only paid £40 per night. It is honestly perfect - and the staff are also lovely. We do not plan on staying at any other hotel whilst visiting our son over the next 5 years.

Room Tip: 3rd floor worked well for us as we then could not hear any noise from a wedding disco on the sat nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briege115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

840 - 844 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

Had a great stay, didn't think much of the outside but it has the wow factor inside. Even the general manager was there on a Saturday afternoon greeting the guests on arrival. Will defo be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D4EKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We chose this hotel because of the value for money room rate,the free on site parking and its location on the main bus routes. Would recommend to folks who want to enjoy all the great activities Glasgow has to offer: we easily accessed Byres Rd. with its concert venue, a variety of restaurants, unusual shops, Glasgow University and the Macintosh House and subway station, George Square and the Merchant City,and The Burrell Collection at Pollock Park. A great two days of sightseeing using buses and a couple of inexpensive taxis.
Our one meal in the hotel was disappointing: the food was fine but the service and kitchen organisation very poor. A repeated smiley sorry from the waitresses does not make up for wrong orders (a starter portion served as main course), lengthy waits ( my husband had finished his main course by the time my salad! was replaced) and the need to request dirty dishes be removed and desert order taken.
Also a bad point which should be tackled by management is smokers blocking and stinking up the reception entrance: not a good welcome.
Despite above we would return because Glasgow has so much to offer and this hotel gives a good value deal to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Was staying there on business last week.

The hotel was informed of our late arrival.

When we arrived at 21:30hrs we were informed that there were only smoking rooms left.

I was then given my key and went to ny room m, only to find out it was someone w else's room and was greeted by an angry half naked man sitting with his laptop.


The receptionist then changed my room to another smoking room.

This room was stinking of stale smoke.

Not my best hotel experience you might say.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paultheshots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

So why were my wife and I staying at a hotel just over a mile from home. An attack of the builders drove us out for two days due to the upheaval and the Pond was the handiest for running back and forward to check on progress.

The last time I was in this hotel was many years ago at an elderly aunts 90th. It was all in a very unpleasant experience culminating in the ceiling collapsing into the middle of the dining room and water pouring through. We knew however due to its proximity to home that it had been taken over and badly needed modernisation carried out so we were not too concerned at booking it for two nights.

Immediately on entry you can see it has a bright new look, modern decor and furnishings. Check in was quick and competent with a selection of rooms offered. The room itself was slightly compact but tastefully furnished in modern furniture and pleasant decor. The bathroom again compact but fully tiled in modern white fittings and spotless. For a short stay I had no adverse feelings about the room whatsoever.

The dining room is again bright, cheery with tasteful tables and chairs. The first night dinner was of very good quality and served in an efficient mannrer. The second evening we encountered a problem with service however the duty manager quickly resolved the issue and placed a discount on our check out bill.

The lounge areas are rather small but we never seemed to have any difficulty finding a seat.

On arrival we had a bit of a concern as we found at least twenty commercial vans in the car park but in fairness to the guys concerned we never heard a sound from them over two nights.

The hotel is ideally situated for the short stay traveller requiring access to Glasgow City Center or travelling further North as it sits on the A82 Great Western Road and gives immediate access to the Loch Lomond road without negotiating the city.

All in quite happy with our two nights and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. In fact we have booked in friends for a short stay next month..

Room Tip: Difficult in a hotel of this nature situated next to a main road and a hospital
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Couperthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
316 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#53 of 93 in Glasgow
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Number 10 Hotel
#27 of 93 in Glasgow
781 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Pond Hotel

Address: Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0XP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: ₹ 4,900 - ₹ 9,887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasgow Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed in Glasgow's fashionable West End with free WiFi and guest parking, Glasgow Pond Hotel enjoys a great local reputation, which is complemented by the fantastic modern interior. Guest rooms are stylish and comfortable with digital TV, direct dial telephone, welcome tray and 24 hour room service. The Brasserie offers great value food all day every day. Only a few minutes drive from the city centre of Glasgow, the hotel is a great base for those wanting to explore all that Glasgow has to offer. Museums, culture and art, cafes and bars on tap, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is business or leisure Glasgow Pond Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable stay in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glasgow Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
Glasgow Pond Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing