We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic meal! Recommended to all our friends ;D”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Sheep Bistro

Black Sheep Bistro
Ranked #10 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 13 - US$ 33
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: Normal food, good portions and fair prices. Owned and staffed by a family.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal! Recommended to all our friends ;D”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

What a brilliant place! Having dined in some of the finest restaurants in Glasgow, and around the world, I can honestly say we're in a position to comment and we really loved the Black Sheep Bistro! Great service - lovely and friendly, gorgeous food and huge portions. Good choice on the menu and the staff offered to make changes for our 9 year old son. The desserts were outstanding - my husband was completely bowled over by the Meringue with Puff candy ice cream, high praise! It's a great wee place, proper traditional fair in a friendly, non-pretentious and well presented bistro. Give it a go!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JD H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavieGGlasgow, Owner at Black Sheep Bistro, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
thank you much for the lovely review , we are always happy to accomadate our younger guests as we know if they are happy then the grown ups can relax , and I am so pleased the dessert was a hit you must come back and try our others some are just too good and we appreciate you recommending us to your friends as it helps the Black sheep go from strength to strength , look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    998
    155
    68
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good service, but just decent pub grub for food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Nice wee place. Very friendly and good service. Food is decent pub grub, but not better. A bit over priced for what you get, but the portions are a good size

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lappins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavieGGlasgow, Manager at Black Sheep Bistro, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Hi , firstly we thank you for visiting The Black Sheep and for taking the time to review us although it was with some dismay to read your comments , decent pub grub? I know on the menu on saturday night there were dishes I have certainly never seen in a pub , ie Haddock wrapped in parma ham with creme fraiche & pesto , chicken stuffed with brie & ham in a creamy wine sauce . we prefer to think of our menu as good comfort food and dishes that you would not make at home ,, as it was your party to choose the comfort food options avaiable apart from starters , as for the price we charge , a meal for four with scallop starters and a bottle of wine for £72.00 including VAT at 20% we think as many of our customers do to be excellant value and we always have fresh cooked food using the best ingrediants not like a pub where the emphesis is on providing food for people who are there drinking therefore using lesser quality ingrediants or indeed pre cooked frozen meals , anyway it is always a shame when we get feedback that is so negative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Katelijne-Waver, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So highly rated? I'd really question why, why and why?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I anticipated dinner here, given the amount of Trip Advisor reviews, to be really something very special. Unfortunately, I was left disappointed by both the quality of food and the standards of service received. Glasgow may well have many great restaurants (I sampled a few on my recent visit) but, in my honest opinion, this is not one.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank BBGNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavieGGlasgow, Owner at Black Sheep Bistro, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Firstly thank you for visiting the Black Sheep Bistro. Trip advisor is a great tool for business, we have many customers, that are now regulars, who came origionally because of Trip Advisor reviews. Unfortunately it doesn't seem to be for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Huge portions of well cooked food. We were offered nice bread while we waited on the fish to be cooked.Were also impressed with the desserts. Will certainly be back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavieGGlasgow, Owner at Black Sheep Bistro, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for visiting the Black Sheep and taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“What a Wee Gem!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is a lovely small restaurant in the untrendy North West of the city. We had to reserve a table two weeks in advance to get a Saturday night booking but it was well worth the wait. It is family run with great Scottish dishes served. It has a nice homely feel with very hardworking, smiling staff. Portions are large and great value for money. We've rebooked but have to wait another two weeks for the Saturday night. Don't say I haven't warned you about booking well in advance

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jhanley18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavieGGlasgow, Owner at Black Sheep Bistro, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for visiting the Black Sheep and taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and sorry you have to wait two weeks to come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Sheep Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Black Sheep Bistro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing