We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what i expected this hotel to be” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #36 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what i expected this hotel to be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed with my other half on Sat 18th Feb for her birthday. Front desk staff were friendly and polite. However Room was a let down, the carpet had an orange stain on it as if someone had spilled Irn Bru on it, several light bulbs in the room were not working and the "heated" towel rail was also not working. the bed looked good but you would have probably been just as comfy on the floor. Unfortunatly we had an inward facing room over the Champaigne bar and were discouraged to open the window to let air in to the room due to the noise in the bar.

Room Tip: Sub standard maintanance and Cleanlieness you be just as comfy in a bin outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenny n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    428
    245
    125
    43
See reviews for
77
723
38
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambuslang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed on a Friday night as part of a online voucher deal - which was good value. The food was great. The staff at the reservations call centre were very helpful as there was a mix up with my reservation. We were staying at the hotel for my fiance's birthday, they were kind enough to give us a birthday glass of fizz with our meal. The room was nice enough - extremely warm and the pillows were very flat, so we didnt have the best sleep. Would definately go back for dinner and drinks but not to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my partner as we had an event to go to close by. Staff, are friendly and helpful, the rooms are great for a one night stay. The bathroom was immaculate with a great shower and small bathroom treats which you can take away with you.

Only thing that could require attention was the noise of what sounded like a water heater which lasted all night, but to be honest, we got home late so if we had been asleep earlier, we probably wouldn't have noticed this, but didn't stop us falling asleep.

Breakfast was great, a fabby selection of cooked and continental treats. I've stayed in the London Mal and both are great venues for a weekend stay.

What I would also say is, the hotel is a little walk from the main city centre, but worth the walk for the peace and quiet as the other hotels in the centre can be quite noisy at weekends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed overnight after a concert and couldn't have asked for a more comfortable room and bed. The only complaint we had was the noisy late comers who decided to continue their ''outside" voices right where our hallway was.

But after informing the staff, they quickly attended to it (despite the late hour) and we were able to get back to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappycoupleAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed here for one night only, the only negative thing to say about the whole visit was Having to Check Out........ The room was large, comfortable and very stylish with great decor, Bed linen was very luxurious and felt great next to the skin, The bathroom was very modern and had both an excellent shower and a great bath. The food was of an excellent standard as we had both dinner and breakfast and i must say it was a great experience. Looking forward to a return visit sometime in the future!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brockybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 278 West George Street, Glasgow G2 4LL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,264 - ₹ 14,136
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Malmaison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing