We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four seasons in one day!”
Review of Rabbie's

Rabbie's
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 57.94*
and up
Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow
More Info
US$ 47.16*
and up
Stirling Castle, Loch Lomond and Whisky Trail Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow
More Info
US$ 52.55*
and up
West Highland Lochs, Glencoe and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow
Ranked #4 of 83 Tours in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Award winning small group tours to the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. Discover the secrets of Loch Ness, Skye, Loch Lomond, Stirling, Oban, Glencoe, Isle of Arran, Culzean Castle, whisky distilleries and much more. Avoid disappointment - guaranteed departures from Glasgow - you book, you go. Don't get lost in the crowd - Guaranteed small groups - Maximum 16 passengers for an authentic travellers experience.
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We did the Castles and Lochs of the Western Higlands. Our guide Nicola was really friendly and very knowledgable about the history of Glasgow and Scotland in general.....She did have a few problems with her left and right however when pointing out landmarks (no major problem for us who speak English as a first language, so we pointed for the others on the coach! ha) There was regular toilet stops and plenty of places to buy snacks. The weather was very changable, great that the trip just carried on regardless of the weather but maybe worthwhile taking a change of shoes/socks and waterproofs are a must! The Kilchurn castle part of the tour was waterlogged on the walk to the castle and we ended up sitting in wet shoes and trousers on the bus and then at the next stop we just went in a pub in Inverary to warm up. We had waterproof jackets but it wasn't enough to contend with the Scottish weather! It's also quite a long day, setting off at 9am and back around 6-6.30pm, it's really good value for money, no hidden extras that aren't on the website. Just remember warm clothing and waterproofs (and spare shoes and socks) and you won't go far wrong. Excellent day out!

Thank Redders1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 886 of 996 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

The all-day tour that left from Glasgow and went to Stirling Castle, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond, Glengoyne Distillery and many scenic spots in between was excellent. Tour price covers the mini-bus; there are additional charges to attractions. Our guide, John, was great and provided an entertaining and educational commentary to our travels, which were interspersed with related music. The weather turned miserable, so we missed out on the hike at Loch Lomond, but we saw some beautiful small villages and back roads. Take rain gear and walking shoes--and don't miss this tour!

Thank Leslie14482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Right from the 8am start, our guide Michael was full of enthusiasm which he maintained through the long day. Hes a man who's passionate about Glasgow and Scotland and knows so much about so many things. He really made the day very special. Thank you!

I would highly recommend Robbies for a great day out. Pity they couldn't organize better weather but it was still a fantastic day!

Thank Mogvolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabbie's, Guest Relations Manager at Rabbie's, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Hi Mogvolds

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your tour. We're glad you enjoyed your time with Michael - he is great fun!

Sorry about the weather, if only we could control it....!

Haste ye back!
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We went on the one day tour to Stirling Castle, Loch Lommond, and Whisky. It was interesting and our guide was knowledgable. I was unimpressed that we had to pay admission fees to enter the castle and attractions... If you are taking people on a tour of places, shouldn't access to said places be included in the cost?

3  Thank TheVeggieNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabbie's, General Manager at Rabbie's, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

Thanks for your review - I'm pleased you liked the trip and your guide.

With regard to admission charges the short answer is - no we don't think these should be included. The long answer is - we don't include admission charges and extras such as lunch because we like to give our guests more choice and flexibilty while on tour. For instance not all our customers want to pay to go into Stirling Castle and there is the option of a (free) walk along the old city wall instead. Also by not including the cost of visits, if we have to change the itinerary because of weather or road conditions then we have the flexibility to go somewhere else instead and so can give our customers the best tour possible on the day.

I am not sure how you booked your tour, but it is clear on both our website and in our brochure that meals and entry fees are not included. We have also arranged discounts for our customers at many of the attractions we visit.

Hope that explains things.

Best regards

Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I went with a friend to Glasgow back in November for 4 days. Since we were there only for a few days, we decided to join some day tours. The first one was ran by Rabbie's with Michael as our tour guide; Michael was making the day tour extremely interesting by connecting history, culture, people and interesting stories with the scenery and attractions; we also got to exercise a little with a short hike in the national park. We enjoyed the tour so much that when our second tour cancelled on us and transferred our tour to Rabbie's, my friend and I were overjoyed. Our second tour was a longer day tour and the tour guide was John. I think if it were not raining most of the time that day and that I was feeling a little sick, I would probably have enjoyed the tour more. John was a very nice man and was very good with his music collection for the long day tour. Only wish was that he would provide a little bit more history and background in connection with the theme of the tour :) Overall, we were very pleased with Rabbie's day tours and would definitely use them again when returning to Scotland.

1  Thank Explorecultures2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rabbie's also viewed

 

Been to Rabbie's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing