We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blythswood Square
Nearby Hotels
Glasgow Marriott Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$ 226
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$ 200
US$ 178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 396
US$ 291
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 203
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Novotel Glasgow Centre(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$ 265
US$ 252
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 239
US$ 215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 239
US$ 234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 169
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 191
US$ 183
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 289
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,919)
Filter reviews
2,919 results
Traveller rating
1,925
651
238
65
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,925
651
238
65
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthermal experiencemarble bathroomharris tweedmarket menucocktail barspa facilitiesbeautiful hoteldeluxe roomfive star hotelhotel guestsbirthday treatporridgefull scottish breakfastcooked breakfastfollowing morningan overnight staycity centre
Filter
Updating list...
2,398 - 2,403 of 2,919 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at the Blythswood Square for only 2 nights, but were extremely happy with it. It is a modern hotel, in a charming old building, with large rooms and a lively atmosphere. It is located fairly close to the city centre, but in a quieter part of town. We walked to most attractions. The staff was really nice, breakfast was great and the wifi complimentary. And surprisingly not too expensive! The bar was really busy every night, and even tough our room was above it, we heard no noise at all. Fantastic place to stay in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiaspiandorim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Without doubt a fantastic hotel with great service, superb attention to detail, beautiful rooms, amazing linen, the most comfortable bed ever and such cool granite bathrooms. And as for the great cocktails............Perfectly located for the city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobojek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Had an excellent stay on a busy Saturday Night. Staff were incredibly pleasant, spa was amazing and i cant wait to return,

Room Tip: We stayed in a Junior suite only downside was bit noisy with traffic as at the front of hotel but thats normal
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djanemcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Blythswood Square is the first hotel I have stayed at where every expectation was exceeded. From the beauty and quality of surroundings to the opulent spa facilities the hotel was luxury all the way.
The room was spotless, the bed amazing the right balance of soft and firm (without having to use the pillow menu (yes you heard right - they offer a pillow menu)). The room had lots of informational materials and we were given a guided tour of the room and how to navigate all the technology (great service). The spa was exceptional - again the young chap in the spa room gave us a guided tour of how to get the best out of our time there - useful for us.
I have never experienced such attentive staff - each and every one polite, friendly and professional. A special mention has to go to the cocktail bar manager Scott and his assistant Martin for not only providing us with the best cocktails we have had but also going the extra mile to make our stay special.
I have an intolerance to gluten and was offered gluten free bread in the dining room as well as a specially made dish - although most of their food was gluten free anyway.
A two day break has left us feeling like we have had a holiday. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had room 328 - no view but none needed - spacious and luxurious (and close to the lift which took us directly into the spa)
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank family4Fife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This was my second visit to this hotel and without a shadow of a doubt this hotel is the best if not in the top three hotels in central Glasgow.

It's most redeeming feature is its staff. And of course, that is the way it should be! They are helpful, accommodating and all of an approachable "sexiness" about them, and they make you feel good when you're check in.

The bed / bathroom sliding parition works very well and opens up the room. This time my room face W. George Street, so I had ample natural daylight. On my last stay I had a Courtyard view, which is great if you want to sleep and have minimal noise.

This hotel is so-close to five stars, but the thing that spoils the experience is technology. In my mind technology is working when you don't see it. I was hampered with a few tech glitches. On check in, I was not issued with a swipe card (tech "on the blink") and while promised, a replacement was not delivered. I expect one to be delivered, even shoved under the door... not told to come down later. This is not a fault of the front desk staff, but they should abandon trendy tech for something that works... issuing a card key is basic req for a hotel.

Athough it has gotten better.The bedroom's tech is also still a bind. Hard tech in that the Samsung TVs take ages to come on and you peck the remote, which sends the system into spasms and in terms of soft tech...the drainage in the bathroom sink is weird. Looks good, but is a bit annoying,

All that aside, this is an AMAZING PROPERTY and I am picking nits. The food in the restaurant and also room service is great Scottish fayre and delivered on time.

The think though that makes this hotel so memorable is the team working on front desk, concierge, room service and housekeeping. Friendly, banterish and not robotic!

See you next time!

Room Tip: Outer facing for daylight. Courtyard for those wanting to sleep.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews