We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #12 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Hotel Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed at this Beautiful, 5 Star Hotel, a couple of weeks ago with my partner. What can i say? everything about this wonderful place, from the staff to the restaurant and the Spa were totally fantastic, the housekeeping team were by far the most admirable members of staff i have ever come across in any hotel, so caring and friendly, and so professional, no one ever thanks this department, which upsets me, as they do most of the hard work in any hotel, So Thanks Girls and Guys!!! The whole hotel is AMAZING. YOU MUST VISIT!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan18677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,658
    572
    207
    52
    26
See reviews for
231
1,378
75
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Overall this hotel is great, I think I prefer one devonshire gardens as a building/ decor/ space but the staff and atmosphere are friendlier and more relaxed in the Blysthwood. Room was really nice, sumptuous and lovely. The toiletries were lush but the marble bath room maybe a bit over the top for my taste and the waterfall taps impossible to fill the kettle with. Couple of things as feed back though, I generally appreciate a directional showerhead in addition to the fixed position rain type. Why ask if we want turn down service then not do it? Also, there is a mini bar fridge in the room, please you are a 5* hotel would fresh milk for tea be out of the question? I also have a problem when no complimentary mineral water is offered in 5* hotels, it should be provided as standard IMO.
Staff were lovely particularly in the late night cocktail bar getting lovely nibbles and making good drinks well into the early hours without grumpiness. The restaurant for dinner was lovely, attentive (if rather nervous) staff and classic competent cooking but not so good at breakfast. The search for a clean plate at the breakfast buffet was exhaustive, hair in the butter, the cheese selection poor (just babybel) and the cooked breakfast a bit of a disaster, over cooked grey scrambled eggs, dry black pudding and over cooked bacon that managed to be both dry and soggy at the same time. The extras, like free pay per view movies and tunnocks tea cakes in the room were quirky and the free spa acess appreciated. Parking is expensive on street in front of the hotel or in a near by multi story where I believe they have a special deal, not ideal so be aware. A great, fun, city centre hotel. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcalgske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provincetown MA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Great high end decor blending traditional elegance with trendy cutting edge design. Everything was top-notch from our room to the staff, breakfasts and the bar. Fantastic location made exploring Glasgow on foot very easy. The only discordant note was the spa staff. First of all, free use of the spa is restricted to certain hours for guests which is a bit off putting and the only property I have ever stayed in that did this. But what really turned me off was when I went down to the spa to check out the pool to see if it was large enough for lap swimming. The spa staff treated me with such tremendous attitude that I wanted nothing to do with the facility. Other than that though we loved our stay atBlythswood Square and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveTait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Would give this a go as very central hotel with friendly staff in very nice surroundings .Strolling distance to shops and all the local attractions
Rooms well appointed although bathrooms a wee bit dark. Spa lovely and worth a trip even to avail of the turbo charged round jazzuzi .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purplewool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

After a day visit previously with my mum to the spa at blythswood hotel, I was delighted to spend my 10th wedding anniversary with my husband here too. Spa by far the best I've been to in Scotland, our room was simple yet lovely with calming decor of crisp white bedding and tweed accessories( nice scottish touch).
We decided to have cocktails in the salon, just yum and our meal in the restaurant where a helpful waiter helped us choose from the mouthwatering menu. Food was delicious and the Sea Bass will never be matched I am sure.
Staff and surroundings .....just lovely.

Room Tip: We were on level 5 but in room 409 - quiet but no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,071 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Property: Blythswood Square
Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,741 - ₹ 20,259
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing