We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, & clean !”
Review of Acorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acorn Hotel
Ranked #42 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent value, & clean !”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed in the Acorn Hotel for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed my time in Glasgow. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. The staff were helpful with all my enquiries and went out of their way to accomodate my awkward breakfast timings.

The Hotel isn't directly in the centre of Town, but it's short walk to Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Byers Road and the Botanic Gardens. In the other direction, it's approximately a 10/15 minute walk into Town.

Four nights came to GBP 237 which is terrific value. The breakfast isn't huge and the coffee is worth buying outside of the Hotel. Otherwise, and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBaker_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    147
    43
    13
    6
See reviews for
24
150
52
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at this little hotel for one night as we were visiting Glasgow for a wedding.

Considering the reasonable price it is really great quality and value for money. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is in a good location which is peaceful but within easy walking distance of town. The room was spotless, well designed and comfortable - no complaints what so ever.

Only slight negative comments I would make (and they are very slight) - the hotel has no real facilities in terms of bar...etc... but there are lots of lovely places nearby. Also, whilst we were there they were doing lots of work on the building so it was noisy during the day. However, it really is a lovely place to stay and I would happily stay there again or recommend to anyone I knew who was making a visit to lovely Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizposs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel, and I was again really pleased with the service and the quality of the accommodation. The rooms I have seen are small but I really like the decor and my bed was very comfortable. Breakfast is ok and I have seen better, but they have what I like (muesli, yoghurt, toast) and are happy to provide a cooked breakfast. The coffee isn't very good, and I don't like television at breakfast, but it wasn't very loud.. The service was efficient and friendly. I like that the hotel is quite small and quiet. At £66 per night it's excellent value, and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

PLUSES
Reasonable price GBP 70 per night
Good breakfast
Location fairly close in, accessible to bus, next to Kelvingrove Park
Clean.
Good bed.
Fast internet included in the price.
Decaf coffee with the kettle in the room.
Liked it enough to stay there a second time.

MINUSES
Tiny room.
Had to buy our own soy milk for special diet

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank energizer0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel was reasonably priced, nice decor and modern bathroom. However, the girl on reception could have been more friendly and welcoming.
But my biggest problem is that there was no hot water, which in my opinion is a very important indeed. I had to boil the kettle in the room to have a wash which is totally unacceptable.
I reported this to reception and the girl didn't seemed surprised at all and just said she would report it, I didn't even get as mush as a sorry.
I travel to Glasgow with work a lot and would have stated again, but no hot water and poor customer service, I think not!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Albion Hotel
#62 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Property: Acorn Hotel
Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,282 - ₹ 7,915
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing