We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Simple and Smart Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acorn Hotel
Ranked #40 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple and Smart Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I booked the Acorn through bookings.com aftre much deliberation and comparison against other hotels in Glasgow; but due to the location decided on the Acorn. The booking was part of a surprise for my partner for his birthday and we arrived around 7pm.
The room was a simple, but most of all quiet (We were in Room 8 that looked over the street/corner to the road). I had chosen the Acorn for this reason as it is just outside the city/business district but close enough to walk to either the city or the west end (where we eventually chose to eat). We were Room Only, but it would've been nice to know whether or not we could've ordered room service (as we discussed treating ourselves to breakfacst in bed in the morning), or been given the option to add this on at check-in. No information on room service/hotel information was provided (just a guide to glasgow) in the room.
Other than that we had a pleasant stay and we would use the Acorn again, for exactly the same reason. We would also recommend the rooms to friends and family visiting the area; value for money, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodaddict84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    142
    42
    13
    6
See reviews for
22
144
50
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed in the Acorn Hotel for one night in September 2011. We found the hotel at a great price and feel it represented a great value for money given this price. Around a ten minute walk to the city centre, it is reasonably placed, although some might have to get a taxi. Rooms are small but nicely decorated, with a very comfy bed, and a very nice toilet. Due to the small size of the hotel, there are few rooms, but this means that it is very quiet at night, which was perfect. GHDs in room were an added bonus for my girlfriend, although she brought her own as it's not very clearly advertised, but should be!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marklgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed here for two nights during the week. The hotel staff were welcoming and happy to help. The room was nice, modern and a set of ghd straightner's in the room which is a first and a pleasant surprise. Only they didn't work. The room was clean and warm when we arrived and througout our stay. However down the corridor outside our room was a strong smell of vomit. Which seems to have been attempted to cover up by three automatic air freshners on the Walls.
The hotel has car parking to the front which is pay and display but very cheap if you buy a Parkin permit from reception which was £4 for the day.
The hotel is set a short walk away from the city centre where there are many bars and resteraunts. The mosquito bar on bath street is a must see.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean9_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed in the Acorn Hotel as we were attending a concert at the SECC. It was easy to find, clean, modern and the breakfast was very nice. The room was pleasant with a comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities and the provision of GHD hair straighteners was a great surprise.
We stayed for three days and walked to the Tall Ship, SECC and the middle of town quite easily from the hotel. A ten minute walk will take you to the nearest bus stop for the airport.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Great hotel for the needs I had at the time, very close to the office I was visiting.

Very clean and modern room of good size, rate includes a decent breakfast. We arrived very late (around 11PM) and the reception was closed but a staff member was on hand to show us to our rooms.

Plenty of nice curry houses nearby!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icedaddyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Kelvingrove Hotel
#66 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#50 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#58 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#27 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Albion Hotel
#65 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Property: Acorn Hotel
Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,100 - ₹ 6,855
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing