We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
94
72
103
49
152
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
72
103
49
152
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free breakfast double room concert at the hydro tea coffee good nights sleep min walk pleasant stay stayed one night sauchiehall street university secc
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

I stayed over during the "the beast from the east" storm and searched over to try find a room for the night as all transport was stopped.

I rang smiths hotel to book with them knowing it was only £27 i thought it was a good deal!

Once i got there they only had one room remaining and they decided to charge me £180 for one night! 6 times the original price!

Guys please check out my pictures before you book! I normally dont write reviews but this one was honestly worth it.

The temperature in the room felt like it was colder than outside!! (Holes in window)

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths H, Front Office Manager at Smiths Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Dear Guest,

On Wednesday 28th of February 2018, almost all of Glasgow was sold out at the time you were looking for a room as demand for rooms on that day exceed supply.

We had only one room left at this time and the price we put online was £180.00, similar to other hotels in Glasgow as it was extremely busy.

When you called the hotel, we clearly told you that the price was £180.00 because of how busy it was and any other hotels available were outside the city.

You would have been well aware of this when searching online, hence your phone call to the hotel.

Our prices change on a continuous basis like all other hotels and you would have never found a room with low prices of £27.00 on 28th of February 2018 as it was super busy.

Your problem with the hotel is that you had to pay £180.00 and you probably saw that our prices were cheaper on other days. Again, our prices vary on a daily basis depending on demand for rooms in Glasgow so this should not be hard to understand.

Instead of wasting your time to write this review, you should be grateful that you were able to find a room in Glasgow on such a difficult day to find accommodation given the weather circumstances as quite a few hotels were not offering rooms as they too were short staffed.

As for the room, the radiator has a dial switch which you turn to put the heating on and any hole you are exaggerating about regarding the windows is just a small gap in the window as its an old traditional window which needs a bit more effort to close.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

Booked last minute literally less than an hour before we arrived. Staff were all nice and checked us in quickly. The room was small and didn't have its own bathroom but was very cheap so can't complain much. View from the room was nice.

The room was very clean and had a tv, kettle and teabags etc ready for if we needed them. Towels were also provided. Free breakfast was available in the morning however we were too tired and never went.

For somewhere booked extremely last minute, no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Connor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths H, Front Office Manager at Smiths Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

We appreciate your kind comments and will provide your feedback to the rest of our staff.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Stayed here on a Saturday night with friends. We had 3 rooms booked in total. The room I stayed in was fine, clean and had no issues. However, one of the other rooms had an issue with the shower and had no cold water (which they were trying to fix). Only complaint is that the shower was weak and was either really cold or scalding hot. The hotel is a bit out of the way but uber is available and cheap to go to the centre. Would probably stay somewhere more central next time, though.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

We have just got home from a night stay at the Smiths Hotel .we booked this short notice and did not read reviews till after I was shocked to read such bad reviews and was worried what we would find . When we arrived we were told to go to the car park at the back he came out to get us and carried my case up to reception. When we got there he said as I was struggling with my walking stick he would move us down to a family room so it was easier to get to .the room was lovely .the hotel is a very old building with creaky floor boards and beautiful box sash windows full of character. They are working on improving things there were a few workman around .All the staff were very helpful and our breakfast thanks to the lovely Mary was excellent with a lovely menu to choose from .im so glad we came. it's a shame people don't realize this is a budget hotel it's just what you need, if you want perfect hotels you have to pay for that .I know I have no problem coming back and will be soon .

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

For the price we paid to stay here we were blown away by everything that was included! The room included a free full English breakfast for 2 with sausage, eggs, bacon, everything! It also, included free parking behind the building!
The only drawback is the location is a bit out of the way and about a 40 minute walk into the city center. However, there is a bus around the corner from the hotel that goes directly there. Alternatively an uber only cost us £5 for one way.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank arodger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews