We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Average ”

Birdtree & Bellfish
Reserve with OpenTable
Birdtree & Bellfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #617 of 2,570 Restaurants in Glasgow
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here recently and found the service good but food pretty average. The sirloin steak was ok but the accompanying mushrooms were pretty unpalatable. I did let the waitress know this. The fish and chips were ok too.
No soap in gents’ toilet needs improving. Wouldn’t rush back.

Thank Fergal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-M-M-Shearer, Manager at Birdtree & Bellfish, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Fergal

Thank you for your feedback .

I have taken note of your comments and will pass these onto the chef.
Our toilets are checked on a regular basis .

Best
Stephen Shearer
Manager
Birdtree&Bellfish


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went on saturday for afternoon tea which was a mothers day gift from my son. The waiter was lovely, very polite and attentive. I mentioned how cold it was outside and he lit the fire. Choice and quantity of food was outstanding. Only downside is the choice of cocktails. Only three old traditional ones on offer. I had the old fashioned moscow mule which was nice but I was looking forward to something more exciting and colourful. No mocktails on offer for the driver only draught coke

Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-M-M-Shearer, Manager at Birdtree & Bellfish, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sheila


Thank you for your review.

I am glad to read how you enjoyed your mothers day gift.
Apologies if the Moscow mule wasn't exciting enough for you, let us know what you have in mind if you come back.
We also have a variety of soft drinks that guests can substitute for if they do not partake of a wee alcoholic beverage.


Best
Stephen Shearer
Manager
Birdtree&Bellfish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped by on way into Glasgow for a spot of Scottish cuisine. Came in with partner and walked by 3 members of staff into the Kelvin cafe. Sat down made ourselves comfortable
At no time did any of the 3 members of staff look in our direction ...no acknowledgement from anyone. Only one other person in the vicinity who was just leaving. After 10 mins we left walking by members of staff who still did not look the road we walked. Not recommended at all. What happened to customer service......

Thank theleader1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-M-M-Shearer, Manager at Birdtree & Bellfish, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Theleader1

Thank you for your review.

Please accept my apologies for your experience during your visit to The Kelvin Bar.
This is not our normal customer service, however I would like to make it clear that The Kelvin is a bar and not a cafe as you
have stated,for future reference all our customers order their food and drink from the bar , although this does not in anyway excuse the
fact that you where ignored the staff on duty.
I have implemented further customer service training to all the staff in Birdtree&Bellfish and The Kelvin Bar.
Thank you for bringing this to my attention .

Regards

Stephen Shearer


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

The food was great but the service was extremely poor. It seemed as though noone knew what they were doing, and customers were not taken in order.

Thank Yvonne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-M-M-Shearer, Manager at Birdtree & Bellfish, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Yvonne.

Thank you leaving a review.

Please accept my apologies for the poor service you received while dinning with us.
This is not our normal level of service.

Please contact myself on the email below should you wish to return to us.

Regards

Stephen Shearer
Manager
Birdtree&Bellfish

bellfish@thelorneglasgow.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Went for the steak and wine deal and was not disappointed. We have been a couple of times now and the standard of the service and food is very good. Thoroughly enjoyed our food and would definitely return again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-M-M-Shearer, Manager at Birdtree & Bellfish, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Catherine


Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Its great to read how you have enjoyed your food time and time again.

Hope to see you soon.

Best wishes.

Stephen Shearer
Manager
Birdtree&Bellfish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birdtree & Bellfish also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Birdtree & Bellfish? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing