We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely spacious room.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ogstons On North Street

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ogstons On North Street
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location, lovely spacious room.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Very central location with free parking nearby. We had a lovely spacious room with a very large bathroom - both spotless. Breakfast was good - prompt service and varied menu.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FV35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    87
    40
    21
    2
See reviews for
43
105
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for a few nights with my wife.

Lovely staff, couldn't be more helpful.
Breakfast was quick and very tasty.
Rooms were very clean.
Restaurant was quick and if you dine try the seabass.

first time here but not the last

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkham, Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I stayed here for one night while on a business trip in room 12 on the top floor. The room was small, but included everything I needed and was very clean. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water for a shower in the morning. This room had a bath with overhead shower, rather than just a shower cubicle as you get in some hotels.

I had my evening meal in the restaurant and it was excellent value for money with the food lovely and hot. The breakfast the following morning was good, with plenty of choice.

The hotel was in a good location near the centre of St Andrews with a number of shops nearby including a Tescos Extra (mini supermarket) open from 6:00am until midnight.

I wasn't aware of any noise from the nightclub, but I stayed on a Wednesday night on the top floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimmyTot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife & I stayed at Ogstons for a one night break in March. The whole experience was excellent, from a friendly greeting from reception on check-in, to a great dinner that evening and a fine breakfast of scrambled eggs and Scottish smoked salon the following day. The room was clean and spacious, with a well appointed en-suite bath with shower. Very comfortable double king size bed with good quality linen. Flat screen TV in the room and it was obvious that the hotel has been recently refurbished. There is a night club in the basement, which was closed for refurbishment at the time we stayed, so we cannot comment on any noise issues.

Recommended, and we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side street (off North Street) may a little quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Booked on spec made to feel welcome whilst enquiring if rooms available. Shown to a lovely well presented but small room with walk in shower ample for our stay.
Food was lovely and menu had plenty to choose from althoug a few changes from those in room maybe should look at changing them to reflect those downstairs.
Only down point Lizard lounge in basemant open to 2 am our room on first floor so you heard and felt every beat of the music and then the noise of people leaving.
Hotel well situated for visiting all that St Andrews has to show nice shops lovely beaches and walks

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.4 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
0.1 km away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ogstons On North Street? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ogstons On North Street

Property: Ogstons On North Street
Address: 127 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,718 - ₹ 17,155
Hotel Class:3 star — Ogstons On North Street 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel right in the heart of St Andrews, the Home of Golf. Nominated for Small Hotel of the Year in the 2009 Golf Tourism Scotland Awards and recommended in the Eating Out in Fife 2012 Awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ogstons On North Street Hotel St. Andrews
Ogstons On North Street St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing