We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely, well situated holiday rental”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
View of flat from communal garden
View of flat outside
View from bay window showing playing fields at Old Course
Dining kitchen
Dining Kitchen
Views of Holy Park Church from window seat
Views of St Andrews Museum and tennis club from Kitchen  window seat
Shower Room
View of Flat from Road
Location map
The famous Old Course Clubhouse (40 sec walk)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
J W
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, average accommodation”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a studio apartment in an absolutely great location and it was the perfect size for our needs. It has a lovely new bathroom and great sink.

However, for someone who likes to cook, the utensils and pans are not great and need upgrading. I would have preferred a good pan over the champagne glasses. The toaster does also not seem to fit any bread properly. The mattresses on the single beds were also showing their age and quite uncomfortable.

It was also disappointing that the two small bins for all the flats were not changed for our entire week's stay. Although this is probably a council issue.

I would say that this is probably ideal for golfers, but not so good for a small family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
Thanks.please note this is not a studio apartment but a flat with 2 rooms ,bay windowed lounge/bedroom and a dining kitchen please see photos for details
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
1 review
“Homely, well situated holiday rental”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Myself and 2 children loved staying at The Snug. It is clean and well equipped for our needs. The great location meant I was barely in the car. Excellent prompt service and I'd highly recommend it

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you had a great stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No WiFi during our stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jun 2014
Im glad you enjoyed your stay unfortunately we only became aware of a problem with Wifi after you left flat during cleaning and maintenance. It turned out that there was a fault with the telephone broadband filter which was immediately replaced by the spare one. I am sorry if this caused you any inconvenience
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Apr 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review for The Snug.
We are pleased to hear everything was to your liking in the flat and that you
enjoyed your visit to St Andrews.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maggie N
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant, welcoming flat in the very heart of St Andrews.”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

On arriving at the flat we were welcomed with a bottle of wine, fresh bread and butter in the fridge and a note from the owners welcoming us to St Andrews. Such a thoughtful gesture but much appreciated by my family. 'The Snug' is perfectly situated to explore St Andrews, very close to the best beach, the cinema, the town centre and all amenities. It's a beautiful flat, traditional features with all the modern conveniences. All technology offered was of the highest spec and the BT internet very useful.

As well as a large lounge, there is a lovely window seat feature in the kitchen which overlooks a very picturesque church and made for a very relaxing area to read morning papers etc. The kitchen itself has everything required to relax and enjoy you holiday.

The flat was immaculate and I wouldn't hesitate to reccommend this lovely apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely welcome and support from keyholders.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind words and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing