We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4-star pretensions with a guest-house attitude”
Review of Ardgowan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardgowan Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“4-star pretensions with a guest-house attitude”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We had a very pleasant, spacious room (no 31) on the top floor with views to the front and rear; however the bathroom was tiny: there is no bath and the shower was a very tight squeeze. Our main gripe though was that breakfast stopped at 9.15, even on a Sunday; when asked at checkout whether everything was alright I expressed my dissatisfaction at this level of service only to be told curtly that "we can't please everyone; we've already changed breakfast times from 7am-9am to 7.15am-9.15am". She did not clarify why there can only be a 2-hour serving period and seemed completely bewildered at my suggestion that a 4-star hotel should serve breakfast up to 10.30. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_N_Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Many thanks for your review and comments on room 31 and sorry to read you won't be back.

We have found most people prefer showers, so when we were remodelling the rooms we kept a few rooms with baths, which can requested when booking if a bath is prefer and we will always do our best to meet a guests requests.

Regarding breakfast times, we still have guest who wish breakfast earlier than 7.15 and we have guests who what later than 9.15. This is a difficult area for us to a dress as we can't serve breakfast all morning as we are only a 3 star hotel (not the 4 that you mentioned). We are always open to suggestions on how to keep all our guests happy and meet are criteria to meet a high 3 star standard.

Thanks again for your comments
Gary
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    192
    67
    11
    8
See reviews for
96
172
30
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stayed for 4 days in june and was impressed by this professionally run value hotel. It had a very good restaurant and helpful , pleasant staff despite it being fully booked up( which is generally the time standards begin to drop). The room ,although a bit small, was well decorated and best of all was a good bathroom with a full pressure shower.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thanks for your postive review of our hotel.

I am always pleased to read comments like yours regarding our hotel, the service you recieved and our staff.

We hope to see you again when visiting St Andrews

Gary
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hardy, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

As a last minute choice of towns to visit on a driving tour of Scotland, we found this to be a wonderful place to stay. The front desk manager was very helpful and welcoming. The rooms were compact but nicely decorated and comfortable. The meals we had in the attached restaurant were delicious and the service was great! Internet connections were not very reliable, however. This hotel is only a five minute walk to the 18th hole of the Old Course. There is also a wonderful walking tour of the town of St. Andrews. Very charming! We were also very pleased with the service of the Scottish Tourism Board and their efficient way of finding exactly what we wanted and could afford.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, General Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We value guest feedback, and it is always nice to read positive feedback.
I am glad our front of staff helped make your stay a pleasant one.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Gary
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My daughter and I stayed with our Golden Retriever pup and had a very nice time. Staff were excellent, superb breakfast and room very comfortable. Hotel ideally positioned for everyhting inc beach and golf. Would return

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs Macara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, General Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We value guest feedback, and it is always nice to read positive feedback.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Gary
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We ended up a this hotel because it was handy at the time and the reviews said it was good. Well, here's our opinion. If you are reaaaaaally desperate to stay near the golf course as you intend to play golf but do not want to be too far away or pay a fortune to stay at the Old Course Hotel then this place is for you. Saying that I can't imagine why anyone would want to pay £130-£160 per night for what felt like a large guest house. The room was small and tight. The bed was tiny and I never slept well, you could here a pin drop in the rooms next door. We had someones toilet behind our bedroom wall and it sounded like the person was standing/sitting behind us.....not pleasant lol! The doors slam loud and there is no lift, so it could be up to a four storie climb for some unsuspecting guests.
Good points......The room was spotless and so was the toilet and so was the rest of the Hotel. The breakfast was excellent and most of the staff really nice and helpful. It's a nice old building that sits right on the main road as you come into ST Andrews and close to the beach and nice eating places. The upshot??? On further comparison and looking into other places this Hotel is really nothing more than pure handyness for golfers. There are loads of nice guest houses around the area that offer the exact same as all of the above for half the price. We stayed in one last time we were there and it was much better at only £60 per couple per night and the only reason we never booked it is because I couldn't remember what is was called when we stayed 10 years ago. We did visit it and wished we had went there instead. Oh-well.

Room Tip: Book on the ground floor and get the big rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheScottish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Thank you for your comments.

For the sake of accuracy a Guest House/B&B rates in the centre of St Andrews are from £80 to £120.

Our smaller room’s rates are £117 inclusive of VAT.

As a hotel we have extra facilities such as restaurant and bar with large outside seating area.

I have thanked our staff for the excellent cleanliness that you reported. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.2 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.6 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgowan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgowan Hotel

Property: Ardgowan Hotel
Address: 2 Playfair Terrace | North Street, St Andrews KY16 9HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#7 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,259 - ₹ 23,630
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardgowan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 200 yards from the 18th green of the world famous Old Course, and still only 5 minutes from the centre of town The Ardgowan Hotel offers the ideal location whatever the reason for you visit to St Andrews. Our comfortable en suite bedrooms are decorated in a modern Scottish style, perfect for relaxing after a long day’s golfing or sightseeing. Located below the main hotel, our restaurant, Playfair’s, is ever popular with local people as well as with our guests. We serve a wide range of dishes prepared with the fresh local ingredients wherever possible. The Ardgowan hotel does not have its own lift, but staff will be more than happy to assist you with your bags. Free on-street car parking is available close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ardgowan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardgowan Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing