We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ardgowan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Du Vin(St Andrews)
US$ 233
US$ 224
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 248
US$ 221
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 269
US$ 189
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Albany Hotel(St Andrews)(Great Value!)
US$ 183
US$ 176
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rufflets Hotel(St Andrews)
US$ 214
US$ 204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 466
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dunvegan Hotel(St Andrews)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
262
220
76
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
220
76
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflights of stairsno lifthotel is in a great locationtop floorroom was clean and comfortablegolf triphotel restaurantgolf coursenice breakfasttown centrethird floornice staysmall hotellarge roomblack puddingtrip to st andrewsshort stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
529 - 534 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stayed for 4 days in june and was impressed by this professionally run value hotel. It had a very good restaurant and helpful , pleasant staff despite it being fully booked up( which is generally the time standards begin to drop). The room ,although a bit small, was well decorated and best of all was a good bathroom with a full pressure shower.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Thanks for your postive review of our hotel.

I am always pleased to read comments like yours regarding our hotel, the service you recieved and our staff.

We hope to see you again when visiting St Andrews

Gary
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

As a last minute choice of towns to visit on a driving tour of Scotland, we found this to be a wonderful place to stay. The front desk manager was very helpful and welcoming. The rooms were compact but nicely decorated and comfortable. The meals we had in the attached restaurant were delicious and the service was great! Internet connections were not very reliable, however. This hotel is only a five minute walk to the 18th hole of the Old Course. There is also a wonderful walking tour of the town of St. Andrews. Very charming! We were also very pleased with the service of the Scottish Tourism Board and their efficient way of finding exactly what we wanted and could afford.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, General Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We value guest feedback, and it is always nice to read positive feedback.
I am glad our front of staff helped make your stay a pleasant one.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Gary
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My daughter and I stayed with our Golden Retriever pup and had a very nice time. Staff were excellent, superb breakfast and room very comfortable. Hotel ideally positioned for everyhting inc beach and golf. Would return

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs Macara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, General Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We value guest feedback, and it is always nice to read positive feedback.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Gary
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We ended up a this hotel because it was handy at the time and the reviews said it was good. Well, here's our opinion. If you are reaaaaaally desperate to stay near the golf course as you intend to play golf but do not want to be too far away or pay a fortune to stay at the Old Course Hotel then this place is for you. Saying that I can't imagine why anyone would want to pay £130-£160 per night for what felt like a large guest house. The room was small and tight. The bed was tiny and I never slept well, you could here a pin drop in the rooms next door. We had someones toilet behind our bedroom wall and it sounded like the person was standing/sitting behind us.....not pleasant lol! The doors slam loud and there is no lift, so it could be up to a four storie climb for some unsuspecting guests.
Good points......The room was spotless and so was the toilet and so was the rest of the Hotel. The breakfast was excellent and most of the staff really nice and helpful. It's a nice old building that sits right on the main road as you come into ST Andrews and close to the beach and nice eating places. The upshot??? On further comparison and looking into other places this Hotel is really nothing more than pure handyness for golfers. There are loads of nice guest houses around the area that offer the exact same as all of the above for half the price. We stayed in one last time we were there and it was much better at only £60 per couple per night and the only reason we never booked it is because I couldn't remember what is was called when we stayed 10 years ago. We did visit it and wished we had went there instead. Oh-well.

Room Tip: Book on the ground floor and get the big rooms
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheScottish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdgowanHotel, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

Thank you for your comments.

For the sake of accuracy a Guest House/B&B rates in the centre of St Andrews are from £80 to £120.

Our smaller room’s rates are £117 inclusive of VAT.

As a hotel we have extra facilities such as restaurant and bar with large outside seating area.

I have thanked our staff for the excellent cleanliness that you reported. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Had a fantastic time there. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. Would easily recommend anyone stay there. Perfect location for golf and shopping in St. Andrews!!!
This is a 3 star hotel, so do not expect luxury, but it was a great place and a great value.
Took less than 2 minutes to walk to the Old Course or to Market Street with all the shopping and restaurants. No elevator so it was tiring on the stairs after walking 18 or 36 holes, but we all need the exercise anyway and was not really a bother.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 28. Great views of the area. I think there was a connecting room.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texas-Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews