We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed at the Hotel for two nights, the food in their restaurant and their bar prices were far too expensive, so we found other places to eat and drink, the charge of £6 to get wifi connection as a resident was a bit unneccessary and very naughty, all that aside though, we had a lovely time and played loys of golf, the night porter Dawid, deserves special mention, he was exceptional with all his attention to our early morning needs at 6am (we had first tee time on the Old Course) he made sure we didnt go out hungry, the staff all round were very helpful and pleasant though and we would stay there again, but would probably take our own food next time.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course are more expensive but quieter, the street side of the hotel is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    389
    201
    69
    37
See reviews for
195
699
33
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtonhill
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

As a birthday treat we recently took my elderly Father for a 2 night stay at this lovely Hotel. I had mentioned that it was my Father's birthday when making the booking and from the moment we arrived the Hotel staff made us so welcome. We received beautiful upgrade rooms overlooking the Golf Course and my Father even received a birthday card from the Hotel in his room. The Conservatory Cocktail Bar is beautiful and overlooks the sea and golf courses as does the lovely restaurant.
Each and every member of staff we encountered was polite, friendly and went out of their way to help. Many many thanks for a lovely stay and we will definitely be back to stay and explore St. Andrews some more.

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea and the Golf Courses
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Askjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

What a shame. The room we had was next to the road and a banging internal fire door. When I went to request a room move the only other room they had was a twin - even though the room we were in was a "zip n link". The shower door was falling off and needed a good clean. The bed was comfortable and the head concierge was very cheerful. But I doubt I will return again.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MMC_2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The whole experience was a treat, something left over from the time of RESPECT – respected as a guest and respecting the staff for real hospilaty in return. St Andrews is a calm interesting place anyway,
Chateaubriand yes oh yes CHATEAUBRIAND we had this AND it was wonderful , have not seen this piece of fillet on a menu in Europe for a long time IT WAS SUPERB cooked as requested served with reverence . Even asked if we preferred a hollandaise or béarnaise, how cool is that, FAB
Very good wine list priced for the bankers crash but had a few for the bankers (they have the money) mine I think
The restraunt has a lovely aspect looking over the final greens of the old course and original club house
GO HERE budget about £120 English
will be back as soon as................

Room Tip: ask for rear facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOOSYGOOSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Just come back from a 3 night stay at this hotel. This is the 5th time we have been and this was by far the most disappointing. We were allocated a room in the modern wing of the hotel, that was neither warm or clean. Unfortunately the more we looked the more we uncovered, there were splash marks on the Walsh in the bathroom and various other obvious cleaning misses. The hotel could do with an overall as most areas are now looking tired and considering the hotels 4 star rating I would have expected better, was recently In the Fairmont and this is a class above but does not have the obvious location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerryvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
5.2 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,153 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
486 reviews
2.4 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
672 reviews
0.7 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
377 reviews
0.4 km away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Rusacks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Property: Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Address: Pilmour Links, St Andrews KY16 9JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,761 - ₹ 38,481
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Rusacks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel in St Andrews is a golfers paradise. Overlooking the world famous Old Course, you can indulge in a round or simply watch others tee'ing off from our comfortable R Bar. Our award-winning Rocca Bar & Grill serves the finest and freshest food against the backdrop of the Old Course's 18th hole. Our luxurious bedrooms are the perfect place to rest your head after a day exploring this beautiful seaside town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Rusacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Rusacks St Andrews
Hotel Macdonald Rusacks
Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing