We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
95
80
34
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
80
34
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea cakes toast chicken maryland anne marie single room macaroni would highly recommend this hotel visited this hotel cooked breakfast bar staff family wedding tea coffee steak pie wedding reception couldn't do enough black pudding
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018

The hotel is an industrialist's former mansion in the heart of town. The staff - at reception and in the dining room - were welcoming, and it was clean. I sensed that everyone is working hard to keep the hotel successful, but it struggles a bit.

Retrofitting a family home can add to charm, but there can be challenges too. And some rooms that might have worked for a child half a century ago aren't really suitable for letting. Mine was too small for the size of bed that it was in it. The only electrical outlets were on the floor under bedside tables that were wedged in between bed and walls. I had to lie on my stomach on the floor to plug and unplug the computer.

It was a hot week, so I needed to open the window (no air conditioning.) There were loud industrial banging sounds coming from the yard outside until quite late at night. Could it have been from the kitchen? I will never know.

Breakfast service was fine, but after all the good food in Ireland (fresh fruit, home made natural yogurt, varieties of freshly baked breads and pastries) it was in a bit of a time warp. But the porridge and tea were good, and I felt truly welcomed.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Staff are helpful and friendly. Was lucky to get one of the new rooms #9 recently refurbished. Lovely clean bathroom... good shower and comfy bed. Only down side was the heat in the room. Staff supplied a fan which helped to cool down a bit and new window clearly been fitted so you can open the window like a door so plenty air gets in but the view... there was none lol (air con unit & laundry room )

Would defo stay here again but will know what room numbers to book

Room Tip: ask for the refurbished rooms from #10 upwards
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetlips9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Staff are so welcoming and friendly. After spending a few hours in the car, 2 of our kids were not very hungry on the first night. Susan went out of her way to suggest things, some of which weren’t on the menu, so that they ate something. The food was absolutely gorgeous and portions are huge. There was a good spread for breakfast too. Some of the hotel is a bit dated, but it is clean and the beds are very comfortable (unlike some of the top chain hotels we have stayed at). So impressed that we are going to try and book in here again on family trips to Fife, instead of our normal hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaHotel28, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jill H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this detailed feedback following your recent visit.
We are delighted you had such a pleasant experience with us and would like to re-visit!
We would be delighted to welcome you all back. I have passed all of your lovely comments on to our team.

Thanks Again!

With very kind regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Do not use room #9 during the summer, as it is much too warm, as if the heater is constantly on.
There is no air-conditioning, nor ceiling fans; but they do furnish foot or portable fans that really do not make much of a difference.
Besides that it is ok.

Room Tip: Room #9 too hot to use during the summer
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EdwardBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

I stayed here between July 15th and 19th on business. I was lucky enough to get one of the newly refurbished rooms which are lovely. A nice comfortable double bed, 32" tv and new all tile bathroom are some of the key features of this room. The restaurant is absolutely lovely. Right down to the staff remembering your personal preferences from previous visits which makes your stay feel more personal. Breakfast in the morning is cooked to order and one of the best I've had in a long time. I stay in hotels on a weekly basis on business and would happily stay in this hotel again and would recommend it to a friend. I cannot speak for the rooms that have not been updated this review is solely based on a new room.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank KyleH1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaHotel28, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kyle H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this honest and detailed review following your recent stay with us!
We are delighted you had the chance to experience one of our newly refurbished bedrooms and enjoyed it greatly.
Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding our staff and restaurant, we really appreciate it.
Hope to welcome you back again soon!

With very kind regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews