We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality food”
Review of The Soo Hoose

The Soo Hoose
Ranked #3 of 192 Restaurants in Falkirk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1,117 - US$ 2,169
Cuisines: European, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are a family run local bar and restaurant, offering value for money, fresh, high quality homecooked food. Available in our Family friendly Restaurant or our 4 legged friendly Bar or Beer Garden.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

First time there and I cannot fault anything. Service was quick and served with a smile. Table of 7 and we all tried something different and everyone cleared there plates, proper homemade chips were amazing. A few puddings got passed round the table to try and were very nice. Will defo be back as good priced, good food and good service x

1  Thank Donnamiller34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy M, Owner at The Soo Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thanks, your comments are very much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed it and we have shared a few puddings too!! Look forward to seeing you again. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

First time at the soo hoose and we all loved it the food was amazing we had soup breaded mushrooms mac cheese, the steak pie was amazing highly recommend it, since it was Easter Sunday I had the mini eggs cheese cake (yummy ) my daughter also got a Easter egg on arrival . Staff were lovely and so helpful and made us feel welcome. We will defo be back soon.

1  Thank ljc142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy M, Owner at The Soo Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you so much, so glad you enjoyed it and look forward to seeing you again x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

It would be impossible to complain and want to promote this excellent restaurant. Two kids (one in a high chair) and two adults went for Mothers day. The mothers day menu had a great selection. The Hendicks gin was on special and Mums received a free prossceco (or two) great start. The service was great the food was plentiful and tasty. Having both enjoyed the three courses and the kids really enjoyed what they ate we came to pay the bill. It was a pleasure to feel that we were looked after, fed well and is did not break the bank. Please keep up the high standard and we will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank partymarty283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy M, Owner at The Soo Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you so much, so pleased to hear you had a lovely time and we look forward to seeing you again x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

We have eaten at the Soo Hoose on many occasions in the past (as can be seen by my reviews). The service was always excellent as was the food. What a disappointment this time on the service!

I understand this place is under new management and that maybe part of the issue.

We ordered the scampi and steak pie, the food was nice enough but oh my goodness the service was awful! There was no pleasant greeting from the barman, in fact I'd go as far to say his front of house skills badly need improving! I was wondering if I was in a pub for a meal or at a funeral. He barely cracked a smile!

After we'd finished our meal the dirty plates were left on the table for 25 minutes, we had originally intended to have a dessert yet no-one came near us to ask if we required dessert or clear the table. They instead opted to stay behind the bar and chat. If this place is offering bar meals then they need to offer the service with it which means tables should be cleared. We left.

I should point out there is a restaurant part to the pub, you can eat in the restaurant, the pub or the beer garden in summer. This used to be such a welcoming little place but I'm not so sure now. I don't think I'd risk eating in the beer garden in summer after the service we received today.

4  Thank JustCallMeKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy M, Owner at The Soo Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

We are sorry to hear that you had a less than ideal experience at our establishment, please accept our apologies for this.
It is appreciated that we should have cleared your plates, however in any bar that we have ate in, the food order is not usually done by waiting staff. The food is ordered and paid for at the bar, for each course, delivered to your table and cleared by staff. However, in the restaurant that is not the case, and it is full waiting staff service, as expected.

On that particular day, in question, although not excusing the fact that you sat with dirty plates on your table, it is difficult to imagine that the barman was standing chatting, behind the bar, as it was an exceptionally busy Saturday Afternoon, this was a potential factor in the service you received and following that we are looking at how we can improve our Bar Meal service. Our menus have been amended to clarify that the system for food order, will continue as a bar order and pay system, for all food/courses.

Again please accept our apologies for this poor experience, and hope that you give us an opportunity to correct this in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely meal with the family. Myself hubby and 4 children 6 years and under. Definitely thumbs up all around.

1  Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy M, Owner at The Soo Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you so much for your comments, we are so glad you had a lovely time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Soo Hoose also viewed

Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 

Been to The Soo Hoose? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing