We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilli cheese fries to die for!”
Review of The Boozy Cow

The Boozy Cow
Ranked #324 of 2,652 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 13
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch
Neighbourhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Description: The Boozy Cow fuses locally sourced and specially selected ingredients to create mouth-watering juicy burgers which are made on the premises fresh every morning by our talented team. Where possible we will be sourcing ingredients and working with local suppliers. The menu includes a selection of mouth watering and juicy burgers bursting with flavour and oozing with tasty goodness. When enjoying one of handcrafted burgers and sipping on our oreo shake sit back and take in the unique interiors we have created for you. The Boozy Cow will also be bringing their popular chilli challenge to Edinburgh. The challenge sees contestants given 15 minutes to eat one chilli cheese burger, one chilli dog, one portion of chilli cheese fries and one Oreo milkshake. We invite you to party until the cows come home at 1am seven days a week, where you can expect an eclectic mix of music with DJs on Tuesday, Friday & Saturday nights. Our talented team has created a selection of cocktails which includes your classic Amicus favourites with a twist and new boozylicious cocktails which will tingle your taste buds! Children's Policy - due to our operating license we are not legally permitted to cater for those children under the age of 5. Sorry!
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Delicious burgers, child friendly, amazing milkshakes, casual dining. We love it! Our kids favourite place.

Thank wanttoholidayeveryda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant M, Manager at The Boozy Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Hey wanttoholidayeveryda

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a cracking review! We agree our chilli fries are to die for, they really are a firm favourite among our Boozy Crew. Your kids clearly have great taste too ;) Hope to see you all again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 134 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017

Visited the Boozy Cow for dinner on a Friday. The burgers were amazing and cooked just how we ordered. The cocktails were also very nice. Not the cheapest, but still good value.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant M, Super Mario Impersonator at The Boozy Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Laura L thank you so much for your lovely review! I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. Remember to keep an eye on our Facebook page for all of our weekly specials. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

So we are not from the area (Americans) and didn't realize that some restaurants are not family friendly/don't allow kids. So our first choice was a no go. So we went here, luckily they let our older kids in. I would say use your own judgement regarding dining with older kids/teens. Any ways, it didn't dawn on us til we were seated that it was a Friday night. Very loud and rowdy inside. The food was great though, the best meal we have had in Scotland so far (5 days in on a 3 week trip). Ordered the gluten free burgers so they were 100% meat! Great chili, fries and milkshakes. Tried the s'mores and Oreo, both were amazing. Friendly server and other staff members were friendly too! 5 stars from our entire family.

Thank KariG668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant M, retired xylophone master at The Boozy Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Hi Kari G, thank you so much for your incredible review! I'm delighted to hear you and the family had the best meal of your trip so far with us! Hopefully we'll still hold that record come the end of your 3 weeks here. The oreo shake has been one of our biggest sellers ever since day 1 here at Boozy and our recent new additions including the s'mores shake have had nothing but high praise from our lovely Boozy Crew. Hope you and the family have a lovely time during the rest of your visit to Scotland! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch. We got a few starters to share, which included chicken wings, pop corn chicken and some slaw. Recommend it all!. The raspberry soda was a nice treat to wash it down.

Thank MissS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant M, crocodile hunter at The Boozy Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Hey MissS80

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us! The Crooked alcoholic sodas have been going down a treat with our Boozy Crew, they really have become an extremely popular alternative to the fruit ciders we offer too. Hope to see you in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

My parents and I kind of stumbled on this place after getting dropped off from an all day tour in the area. We had the regular burger, the Holy Cow burger and the Dirty Dog. In addition we had onion rings and deep fried pickles. We also had a beer, red wine and one of their house bottled cocktails. Drinks were great - nothing special, but we didn't order anything special. Mains were good, however I do prefer my burgers more medium/medium rare and they recommended medium well so it was a little overcooked for my taste. The sides were good, however, the batter for frying the onions and the pickles was very sweet - not what we were expecting and limited to the amount you could really eat at on time (in my opinion). I would likely not order either of them again, but they had plenty of other sides that looked delicious. If I lived in the area I would definitely consider going back with a group of friends for some cocktails. I also think its awesome that all of their profit goes to charity!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant M, Manager at The Boozy Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hi Holly M

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a nice review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. We do recommend our burgers cooked medium well as we feel they are at their most succulent and juiciest this way. We can cook them any way you like so if you pop back in please just ask one of our staff and we will be happy to oblige :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boozy Cow also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Boozy Cow? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing