We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ben Cruachan Guest House
Ranked #6 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I had a great stay at Ben Cruachan Guest House. The room was extremely clean and comfortable, the breakfast was fantastic (well cooked and quality ingredients), and Carole was an excellent host. I would certainly recommend this guest house to someone traveling to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 531 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Wonderful hospitality at Bencruachan. The little extras in the room are lovely,We have now stayed in every room that Carole has. Absolutely Fantastic Breakfast. and plenty of it. This excellent accommodation with superb facilities for guests, is like home from home, we keep returning it gets better all the time.keep up the good work Carole best wishes Maggie and John

Room Tip: All very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DumfriesukMaggie_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Doing my research on accommodation in Edinburgh i discovered Ben Cruachan Guest House with its prestigious Gold award for outstanding quality and srevice. You can see why as soon as you enter the front door you are made so welcome by the owner Carole. We arrived very early 8.30am shown into the lounge with a tray of tea toast and preserves as our room wasn't ready, Carole gave us use of a bathroom to freshen up, such a nice touch. Our room was beside the garden with a wonderful en-suite. We enjoyed the luxury of sherry , sweets, toiletries, flat screen tv and wifi also fabulous information on Edinburgh the best comfortable bed better than our own. The breakfast was out of this world i have never seen anything like it in a b&b before,porridge with a good malt followed by a full cooked of eggs bacon sausages black pudding tomatoe mushrooms and haggis. The quality of the breakfast was amazing proper butchers sausages thick gammon oh! and 2 eggs without asking all perfectly cooked.
2nd morning i Had an exotic fruit plate with greek yogurt walnuts and honey, my husband had eggs benedict the best he has tasted. The dining room is beautiful with white linen crystal glasses and fresh flowers the house is immaculately clean with great attention to detail.
You are totally spoilt, we thoroughly enjoyed our time here and will certainly return.

Thanks.
Jan & Hugh.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We have had a wonderful 3 days experience thanks to Trip Advisor, staying at the Great Ben Cruachan. The comments are very correct from all the travellers. Beautiful house very good room so clean good taste. The hosts are friendly and nice, the breakfast was a very high standard good for us with hot milk. The price was also good for us. We hope many people come and stay at this good place it was very charming.

Seve.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Two nights at the beginning of a Scotland tour and one at the end - son-in-law of the owner standing in and all done beautifully. Small rooms, but clean, well-decorated and very comfortable, with good beds and a very helpful attitude - the last morning, we were served breakfast more than an hour early before a trip to the airport. The locations is outstanding - you are right in the middle of all new and old town attractions, 20 minutes walk. We would always use this as our base here.

Room Tip: Try for room facing the garden - quiet and restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ketreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,049 reviews
94DR
#5 of 395 in Edinburgh
571 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 395 in Edinburgh
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kew House
#7 of 395 in Edinburgh
864 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#18 of 395 in Edinburgh
738 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#9 of 395 in Edinburgh
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Cruachan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Cruachan Guest House

Address: 17 McDonald Road, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland (Formerly Ben Cruachan)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 4,287 - ₹ 11,147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian Town House in the heart of Edinburgh. A 4 bedroomed Guest House close to major visitor attractions. Individually designed bedrooms and a freshly prepared Scottish breakfast served in a beautiful dining room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ben Cruachan Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Ben Cruachan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing