We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Slow Service”
Review of Voujon

Voujon
Ranked #103 of 2,639 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Edinburgh's Voujon, translated as invitation to dine, has been serving Indian and Bengali food in the Newington area of the city since 2005. The bright, airy and contemporary dining area, complete with simple floral displays and leather seating which invites you to linger is matched by the immaculate service and delicious food. The colourful dishes, delicately spiced, take their inspiration from the East but add a pinch of the West to ensure a unique dining experience. Don���t wait for an invitation to dine at Voujon, make your booking today.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food was actually ok, and we quite enjoyed it but we waited for ever to get our courses. The service was really slow and one of the waiters was really rude. I did enjoy my starter which was a 'lamb tikka stir fry'. But overall poor service and the food did not justify the ranking on the website.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Miles0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonvou, Manager at Voujon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Miles0707,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very disappointed to read your review with a poor impression regarding dining experience at Voujon. I am very sorry that we were unable to serve your food during your expectation time.

Though I'm not sure I do believe you have been to Voujon on the weekend specially due to the holiday we were unexpectedly busy. Everything is freshly made nothing is pre-cooked. We could have served the food a little quicker but then we would have to compromise on the quality of the food which we are not willing to do.

Once food been served on the table we ask each & every customer about the food but that time if you had told us we could've rectify that. It is unfortunate that you experienced a bad evening on that specific day.

We sincerely hope that you may reconsider coming back and giving us another opportunity to restore your believe in Voujon. Please contact us on the number below on your convience at any time. Many thanks!

Your siencerly,
Manager
Voujon Bengali & Indian Restaurant
Edinburgh
0131 6675046

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food is excellent; fresh and zingy in relaxed contemporary surroundings. The staff are friendly and helpful; great service.
It feels quite special at very reasonable prices. Highly recommended.

Thank Lorna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonvou, Manager at Voujon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lorna J,

We are delighted to read your cnstructive feedback & kind recomendation following your dining experience at Voujon. Your kind review regarding quality of food & service provided my colleagues is very much appreciated.

Thank you again for your kind words and we are very much hope to welcome you back to experience our hospitality again at voujon. Many Thanks!

Best Regards,

Manager
Voujon Bengali & Indian Restaurant
Edinburgh
0131 6675046

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just been back to Voujon. Food and service as good as ever. If you have not been please try it you don't know what your missing.

Thank smchristie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonvou, Manager at Voujon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Smchristie54,

We are extreamly happy to read your cnstructive feedback & kind recomendation following your dining experience at Voujon. It is always our great pleasure to welcome you. Your kind review regarding quality of food & service is very much appreciated.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Many Thanks.

Kind Regards,

Manager
Voujon Bengali & Indian Restaurant
Edinburgh
0131 6675046

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not been for a while but the quality of the food and the service was excellent and to the same standard as always.
I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant

Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonvou, Manager at Voujon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Andy L,

Im delighted to read your wonderful feedback regarding your recent dining experience at Voujon. We always strive & try our best to keep our standard of quality in every way .Many thanks for taking time to write this wonderful review for us which is very much appreciated.

Always it is our pleasure to welcome you in our restaurant. We hope to have the opportunity to serving you again in the near future. Thank You!

Best Regards,

Manager
Voujon Bengali & Indian Restaurant
Edinburgh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here along with nine others on a Thursday evening. We enjoyed an excellent meal in relaxed surroundings. I have dined here before, although it was some years ago. I thought both the menu and food were far better on this occasion. I was quite impressed and will definitely return. Mains cost around £10-12.

Thank Melancthon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonvou, Manager at Voujon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Melancthon,

Im delighted to read your kind word regarding your recent dining experience at Voujon. The way you express about quality of food & service provided by my fellows are highly appreciated. Many thanks to taking time to write this wonderful review for us.

It was a pleasure to welcome you all in our restaurant. We hope to have the opportunity to serving you again in the near future. Thank You!

Best Regards,

Manager
Voujon Bengali & Indian Restaurant
Edinburgh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Voujon also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Voujon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing