We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere, Great Food and Good Drink!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of a room in the west end and Teuchters bar

a room in the west end and Teuchters bar
Reserve with OpenTable
a room in the west end and Teuchters bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #284 of 2,438 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: Cracking bar and separate bistro in the heart of Edinburgh's Georgian west end.Very popular with locals sampling local craft beers, malt whiskies and world wines. Everything is prepared freshly in the restaurant using locally sourced ingredients wherever possible. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff will look after you. You'll be glad you found us and won't want to leave. Open for breakfast in the bar, lunch and dinner. Famous for watching the rugby!!
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Great Food and Good Drink!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We met up for a meal at lunchtime, the menu was great, the food was delicious and in season. I loved it that much I went back with my husband for a meal and we were able to get a 'booth' all to ourselves. The 'booth' was a table in a sort of wine cellar area. Very cosy.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neecie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    117
    26
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A great Scorrish restaurant topped off with a friendly bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

If you are looking for two things, 1) A great bar with friendly staff, an extensive beer and whiskey selection and a very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere & 2) A great bistro style restaurant that produces fantastic Scottish food with a contemporary twist, then this establishment is perfect for you as they are both conveniently sandwiched together in one handy package.

Lets start with the bar. Teuchters is a very warm and welcoming bar. It has a slightly old fashioned and comfortable feel to it with the wood burner stove and wooden floors and furniture. The drink selection is extensive specialising in whiskey (well you are in Edinburgh after all) but there is also a good wine list and the usual hops based suspects on draft. The staff are polite and helpful so if you do have questions on the drinks or would like to sample a real ale before ordering a pint then they will be more than happy to help.
The bar also has a limited but suitably designed bar menu consisting of sandwiches, soups, pies and various specialities served by the mug (I recommend the haggis stovies or cullen skink soup).

Once you have built up an apatite in the bar it is simply a wander down the stairs to the restaurant. You are greeted with a cosy basement restaurant, decorated with murals on the walls and lots of dark wood.
The tables are well spaced out so you do not feel you are actually included in your neighbours conversation (a personal bug-bear of mine) and the music is very subtle so you can easily converse with your fellow diners (although saying that, if the restaurant is full the noise of multiple conversations can become considerable - all adding to the bistro experience in my opinion).
The food is a fantastic take on traditional, well sourced Scottish fare served with a contemporary twist. The menu is always dotted with the Scottish 'must have' ingredients such as haggis, black pudding, beef, veal, salmon, prawns etc and the twist is not a major segway from the traditional recipes, it is more a subtle addition such as jalapenos added to the crème fraiche to give a crayfish salad an edge or chorizo added to a salsa to add flavour to haggis and beef meatballs...

The lunch menu changes daily, it offers a good selection of four or five starters and the same number of mains and the deserts are always mouth wateringly good. The dinner menu changes every few months but is of a very similar style.
There is a corkage charge of £3 which makes a huge difference to the overall cost of dining out these days, although there is also a good wine list if you would prefer.

So if you are looking for a nice and friendly taste of Scotland, convieniently located just outside the main city centre, that will leave you full but not broke... then give it a go! I am confident you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Good food, good beer, great service and all at a good price. If I was to be picky the only let down is that this place is in a basement and therefore (and obviously) lacks natural light. But it's not as if you're spending your whole life down there is it!!

Don't let this put you off as it is well worth the visit!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flagitious_mystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Find - Needed a wee bit more food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

My wife and I went to this place for my recent birthday and was delighted.

The main bar and main restaurant were very noisy and I would caution anyone not using the coves they have for couples as it may be too lively for others. The coves however are very intimate and much quieter than the main restaurant.

The good parts start with the fact you can bring your own bottles of wine at a corkage charge of £3 which is well worth it. The outside doesnt make it too appealing but the service was excellent, attentive without being overbearing. Table well presented and lovely and cosey in these coves. The starters of neeps, tatties and haggis was great and exceptionally high standard. The main course was beautiful too but could have done with more vegetables as standard. That left us when we got to pudding still quite hungry, thanks to the bring bottle we ordered three puddings for two people which left us full. The quality throughout was exceptional and the service matched that as well. My only was it just needed more veg either in quantity or variety to make a little fuller.

I have however rated it as it was excellent quality and reasonably priced for Edinburgh and the adding a wee bit, more food didnt spoil the great meal and service we had.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardBourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Had lunch here with some friends on a Saturday afternoon at the beginning of August. The restaurant is pretty well placed if you wanted to move on to town afterwards - only 5 min walk from Indigo Yard/Sygn Bar/Caledonian Hotel and maybe 10 min walk to George Street. I'd never been here before, didn't even know the place was there - the food and service was excellent and we'd taken advantage of the BYOB, corkage was around £3 per bottle. The restaurant was full so I'd suggest to book in advance to make sure you get a table. We stayed for ages then moved upstairs to the bar for a few drinks. The only slight issue was the heat - it was quite a warm day but the restaurant was really warm, we had asked and the air con was on but still v warm. That's the only drawback though and wouldn't prevent me from going back at all.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank eliza k s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed a room in the west end and Teuchters bar also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to a room in the west end and Teuchters bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing