We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst rip off ever encountered.”

Contini George Street
Ranked #431 of 2,640 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$ 21 - US$ 52
Cuisines: Italian, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: New Town
Description: Contini George Street, Victor and Carina Contini’s flagship Italian restaurant, has relaunched with a brand new menu, décor and dining experience. A new menu, with a focus on small plates that can be shared, has been introduced, as well as a refreshed wine list and cocktail selection inspired by classic Italian drinks. The new Contini George Street menu features dishes such as Salame Calabrese with roasted aubergine, mint, crème fraiche and pistachio crumb; cod poached in cold pressed olive oil with fennel, samphire and chili; and a raw cauliflower, porcini and lemon oil salad with breadcrumbs and Venetian spiced walnuts. Meanwhile, “old favourites” like Contini’s classic Contadino can still be enjoyed, but in smaller, lighter portions. The wine list offers a choice of over 55 Italian wines by the glass and bottle
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a unbelievable rip off ! The absolute worst value for money I have ever experienced. To charge £17 for two sausages and a handful of peas is ridiculous. This is not an exaggeration...two, simple, bog standard sausages, nothing else other than the peas. My wife had frittata which was overdone and tasted of the fish that had obviously been cooked alongside it.
I don't mind paying exorbitant prices for good food, so long as it is worth it and we leave feeling satisfied. However after spending £126 we left the premises to seek out a takeaway.
It's not good food, cooked by a gourmet chef....it's just budgie sized portions of mediocre food sold at ridiculously expensive prices.

Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had a wonderful experience, food was amazing and the service was fabulous would highly recommend!!

Thank Felicity P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carina C, Manager at Contini George Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Felicity P,

Many thanks for you review of Contini George Street. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Wishes,
Team Contini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited on Monday evening and couldn't recommend this restaurant any higher. Staff were very friendly and the service was brilliant throughout.

All in all, the food, service. atmosphere and beautiful setting this restaurant offers makes it a must visit/return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tomjones718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carina C, Manager at Contini George Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Tomjones718,

Many thanks for you review of Contini George Street. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Wishes,
Team Contini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had visited contini during the day and got a really good feeling about the restaurant so we booked for an evening meal. How wrong can you be.
The building is beautifully decorated and the welcome again was friendly. The food we received was average at best, and not on par with the setting. I would not recommend this restaurant sorry. There are much better options available in Edinburgh

Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carina C, Manager at Contini George Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ian C,

Thank you for taking the time to review Contini George Street - although we are of course disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit.

On this occasion we obviously fell short of our very high standards and indeed your expectations. With that being said, I am struggling to find a record of your reservation, nor do we recall any of our guests being dissatisfied with their food. I would really appreciate it if you could contact me directly on georgest@contini.com to provide further details of your experience so that we can investigate further.

Regards,
Lydia Millar
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We passed thus beautiful building and thought, let's have a little look in. The staff were so accommodating, friendly and informative we booked there and then. We met Victor, the owner, who was lovely and we were not disappointed by our visit, the food was excellent and the service was spot on. Can't wait for my next trip to Edinburgh because Contini will be on my to do list. Thank from two grateful Scousers

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Contini George Street also viewed

 

Been to Contini George Street? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing