We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family visit”

Escape Edinburgh New Town
Ranked #9 of 75 Fun & Games in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Escape is a simple, fun, challenging game in Edinburgh City Centre designed for groups of 2 - 6. With 2 rooms in operation we can accommodate teams of up to 12. Current games are Houdini's Workshop and The Experiment. We lock you up in a mysterious room, and give you exactly 60 minutes to get out. In order to escape you and your team must solve many puzzles, riddles, brain teasers and identify clues. Using your powers of observation and problem solving.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Came here for the 2nd time yesterday with my cousin and our kids age ranging from 11-14, we all that’s a fab time and the kids didn’t struggle with the tasks, will most definitely be back

Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Manager at Escape Edinburgh New Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Joanne, thanks for visiting us again and glad to hear that your family enjoyed it. Kids of that age can often work well as part of a family group. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"da vinci room"
in 109 reviews
"great fun"
in 185 reviews
"team building"
in 32 reviews
"visited escape"
in 25 reviews
"problem solving"
in 10 reviews
"escape room"
in 35 reviews
"holy grail"
in 12 reviews
"hen party"
in 9 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 18 reviews
"dark side"
in 11 reviews
"clues"
in 172 reviews
"escaped"
in 64 reviews
"challenges"
in 33 reviews
"activity"
in 45 reviews
"brain"
in 24 reviews
"linear"
in 9 reviews
"achievable"
in 8 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

After a slow start in the Houdini room, where you listen to cheesy audio for too long, four of us found the puzzles just about the right challenge. Hints were just about timed perfectly. Some a few too early for me, but ok for others in our group. Simon was a friendly host and I think the price of £15 was fair value. I wouldn't rush out to do this kind of thing again of my own volition but if asked I'd join in. I think if you were part of a larger group and wanted some pre-evening warmup this would be a good thing to do.

Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Manager at Escape Edinburgh New Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Mike, thanks for leaving this review. It's great to hear that you thought that we provided good value for money and also that Simon, who has only just joined our team, did a good job as host. It is difficult to argue with your comments about the audio. We are waiting on an edited/video version so we can set the scene without the awkwardness of the long recording.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Went for a birthday with friends and we all had a great time - some really tough puzzles that we had to work together to do. Book well in advance since even a week before there's very little times left. Really lovely staff members too who seemed excited to actually be there which is refreshing :)

Thank kingdanlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Manager at Escape Edinburgh New Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi there, thanks for leaving such a positive review. It is particularly pleasing to read the comments about the staff as this is something we pride ourselves on. Of course it is also great to hear that you enjoyed the game itself and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

At first I didn’t even want to do this, but after the experience I’m so glad I did.
Thoroughly enjoyed myself and will definitely visit again.
I highly recommend Escape to groups / couples looking to have a great evening (hour) together.
The staff were also very friendly and supportive.

Thank rj42018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Manager at Escape Edinburgh New Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi glad you decided to give Escape a chance and that it didn't disappoint when you did. Thanks for recommending us to others and hopefully we will see you back again yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

great laugh and good fun. Very helpful staff and great room - Houdini's room. Would definetely visit again.

Thank fionacaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Manager at Escape Edinburgh New Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi Fiona, thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed the game. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Escape Edinburgh New Town also viewed

 

Been to Escape Edinburgh New Town? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing